Horowhenua County – Manawatu County Boundary Alteration Order 1987

PAUL REEVES, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 5th day of October 1987

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

PURSUANT to section 36 of the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order:

ORDER

1. Title and Commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Horowhenua County – Manawatu County Boundary Alteration Order 1987.

(2) This order shall come into force on the day after its notification in the New Zealand Gazette.

2. Boundary Altered—The boundaries of the districts of Horowhenua County and Manawatu County are hereby altered by excluding from the district of Manawatu County and including within the district of Horowhenua County the area of land described in the Schedule hereto.

3. Chairman and Principal Administrative Officer—The chairman and principal administrative officer of the Horowhenua County Council shall exercise the duties, powers, and functions of the chairman and principal administrative officer of the Manawatu County Council in respect of the said area.

4. Transfer of Responsibilities—The Horowhenua County Council in respect of the said area:

- (a) Shall have and may exercise and be responsible for all the powers, duties, acts of authority, and functions which were previously exercised, or which would have been so exercised, by the Manawatu County Council;
- (b) Shall have and may exercise and be responsible for all liabilities, obligations, engagements, and contracts which previously were, or which would have been the responsibility of the Manawatu County Council;
- (c) Shall have and may exercise and be responsibile for all actions, suits, and proceedings pending by or against, or which would have been the responsibility of, the Manawatu County Council;
- (d) Shall succeed to the bylaws which are in force and which are applicable to the authority's altered circumstances and, until revoked or altered by the Horowhenua County Council, every such bylaw shall remain in force in the area in which it was in force immediately before the alteration of boundaries; and every bylaw which cannot be restricted to the area shall be deemed inapplicable and revoked in respect of the area by the alteration of boundaries;
- (e) Shall succeed to all rates or levies and other money payable to the Manawatu County Council;
- (f) Shall succeed to the valuation rolls, electoral rolls, and rate records in force in the area, and these shall remain in force until such rolls or records are made by the Horowhenua County Council, and until that time Part IX of the Rating Act 1967 shall apply as if the district in which the area was included was the district of a special purpose authority and the area from which it was formed was a constituent district.

5. Vesting of Land—(1) The corporation of the district of Horowhenua County shall, in respect of the said area, have vested in it, subject to all existing encumbrances, all land in the area vested in the corporation of the district of Manawatu County.

(2) For the purposes of subclause (1) of this clause any reference (express or implied) to the "Manawatu County Council" or "The Chairman, Councillors and Citizens of the County of Manawatu" in any instrument or other document whatsoever, or in any entry or record made on any register in relation to any instrument or other document whatsoever shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to the Horowhenua County Council.

6. Apportionment of Assets and Liabilities—There shall be no apportionment of assets and liabilities including loan liabilities pursuant to clause 2 of this order.

7. Creditors—Subject to section 37F of the Local Government Act 1974, the rights or interests of creditors of any district affected by this order shall not be affected.

SCHEDULE

ALL that area in the Wellington Land District, Manawatu County, containing 22.9366 hectares, more or less, in Block VII Mount Robinson Survey District, enclosed by the middle of the old course of the Manawatu River and the middle of the present course of the Manawatu River, through the artificial cut as defined on Deposited Plan 15881.

C. J. HILL, Acting for Clerk of the Executive Council.

Waitotara County - Wanganui County Union Order 1987

PAUL REEVES, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 5th day of October 1987

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL PURSUANT to section 36 of the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order:

ORDER

1. Title and Commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Waitotara County – Wanganui County Union Order 1987.

(2) This order shall come into force on the day next after the day on which the Returning Officer, pursuant to the Local Elections and Polls Act 1976, declares the result of the election of members of the Wanganui County Council, as constituted by clause 2 of this order, following the general election of members to be held pursuant to clause 4 of this order.

(3) Those provisions of this order necessary to provide for the election of the members of the County Council to be held pursuant to clause 4 of this order shall come into force on the date of the making of this order.

2. Constitution—(1) The districts of the County of Waitotara and the County of Wanganui are hereby united into one district to be known as the Wanganui County (hereinafter referred to as "the united county").

(2) The Waitotara County Council and the Wanganui County Council (hereinafter referred to as "the uniting authorities") are hereby dissolved.

(3) There is hereby constituted a council for the united district to be known as the "Wanganui County Council" (hereinafter referred to as "the county council").

3. Ridings—The united county is hereby divided into nine ridings as follows:

- The Brunswick-Westmere Riding, comprising the Brunswick-Westmere Riding of the former Waitotara County;
- The Otamatea Riding, comprising the Otamatea Riding of the former Waitotara County;
- The Raorikia Riding, comprising the Raorikia Riding of the former Waitotara County;
- The Waitotara Riding, comprising the Waitotara Riding of the former Waitotara County;
- The Kaitoke Riding, comprising the Kaitoke Riding of the former Wanganui County;
- The Kaukatea-Purua Riding, comprising the Kaukatea and Purua Ridings of the former Wanganui County;
- The Mangawhero Riding, comprising the Mangawhero Riding of the former Wanganui County;
- The Mangamahu Riding, comprising the Mangamahu Riding of the former Wanganui County;
- The Morikau-Upokongaro Riding, comprising the Morikau and Upokongaro Ridings of the former Wanganui County;

4. First Election of Council—(1) The first general election of the county council shall be held on Friday, 25 March 1988.

(2) For the purposes of arranging the first election of the county council, the Principal Administrative Officer and the Returning Officer for the united county shall be the Principal Administrative Officer and Returning Officer of the former Wanganui County Council.

(3) The first general election of the county council shall be conducted by postal vote.

35