Flying Officer M. C. Boyes is transferred from No. 42 (Cargill) ATC Squadron to No. 50 (Alexander) ATC Squadron with effect from 12 February 1987.

Flying Officer A. J. Batchelor is transferred from No. 4 (Papakura) ATC Squadron to No. 40 (Pakuranga/Howick) ATC Squadron with effect 7 May 1987.

Dated at Wellington this 28th day of September 1987.

R. T. TIZARD, Minister of Defence.

125

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

#### REGULAR AIR FORCE

#### GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

#### Appointments

Wing Commander M. Palairet to be acting Group Captain with effect from 27 July 1987, and temp. Group Captain with effect from 3 August 1987.

Wing Commander M. M. Spring to be acting Group Captain with effect from 22 June 1987, and temp. Group Captain with effect from 13 July 1987.

Squadron Leader T. M. Gardiner to be temp. Wing Commander with effect from 15 June 1987.

Flight Lieutenant G. N. McKay to be acting Squadron Leader with effect from 14 September 1987.

#### **Promotions**

Wing Commander (temp. Group Captain) M. Palairet to be Group Captain with seniority and effect from 14 September 1987.

Squadron Leader D. J. Ellis to be Wing Commander with seniority from 30 June 1986 and effect from 1 June 1987.

Squadron Leader D. V. Monti to be acting Wing Commander with effect from 31 August 1987, and Wing Commander with seniority from 13 June 1987 and effect from 5 September 1987.

Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) T. M. Gardiner to be Wing Commander with seniority and effect from 15 June 1987.

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) A. M. Enright to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 29 August 1987.

Flying Officer J. A. Osborne to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 14 August 1987.

Pilot Officer R. E. Nicholls to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 10 September 1987.

### Transfers to Reserve

Squadron Leader Douglas Norman Wiklund is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 14 August 1989, with effect from 15 August 1987.

Flight Lieutenant Peter John Hedley is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 8 August 1989, with effect from 9 August 1987.

Flight Lieutenant Arthur Donald Goodhue is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 15 August 1991, with effect from 16 August 1987.

## Transfer to Retired List

Group Captain William Ross Donaldson, O.B.E., is transferred to the Retired List 'B' with effect from 29 July 1987.

### Retirement

Flight Lieutenant John Peter Watson, N.Z.C.E., is retired with effect from 1 August 1987.

### ENGINEER BRANCH

### Appointment

Flight Lieutenant A. G. Harmsworth to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 20 May 1987.

### Promotions

Squadron Leader (temp. Wing Commander) B. J. Germain, M.B.E., N.Z.C.E., to be Wing Commander with seniority and effect from 2 July 1987.

Flying Officer P. J. Kirker, N.Z.C.E., to be temp. Flight Lieutenant with effect from 4 October 1986, and Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 4 October 1987.

#### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

#### Appointment

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant R. J. McDowall, B.COM., to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 28 September 1987.

#### Promotions

Secretarial Division

Pilot Officer S. M. Bieleski, B.COM., to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 10 September 1987.

Supply Division

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) P. Houltham to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 10 September 1987. Special Duties Division

Flying Officer K. A. Love, B.SC., to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 6 August 1987.

## Transfers in Branch

Special Duties Division

The following officers are transferred to the Secretarial Division in their present rank and seniority with effect from the date shown:

Flying Officer K. D. Lindsay, 13 April 1987

Pilot Officer (now Flying Officer) M. J. Pinfold, 16 February 1987

#### Transfer to Reserve

Secretarial Division

Squadron Leader Harcourt Ian Williams is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 7 August 1989, with effect from 8 August 1987.

### **EDUCATION BRANCH**

#### Transfer

Flying Officer B. J. Hunt, M.SC.(HONS.), is transferred to the General Duties Branch in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 20 November 1985 and effect from 9 March 1987.

### CHAPLAINS' BRANCH

# Appointment

Chaplain Class III Richard Andrew Simpson, L.T.H., J.P., (Anglican), (RNZAF Rtd), is nominated a deputy member of the Chaplains' Dominion Advisory Council in the honorary rank of Chaplain Class II, with effect from 1 August 1987.

### TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

### Appointment

Special Duties Division

John Leslie Milne is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority and effect from 13 July 1987.

### **Promotions**

Special Duties Division

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from the date shown:

P. H. Mack, 23 March 1987

B. P. Cunningham, 25 June 1987

# RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

### Appointment

Wing Commander Alfred Frank Ellis (Rtd), is appointed to the Special Service List of the Air Force Reserve in the rank of Squadron Leader, with effect from 31 July 1987; terminating on 30 July 1990.

Squadron Leader Brian Henry May is transferred from the Retired List 'A', and is appointed to the Active Reserve until 27 July 1989, with effect from 28 July 1987.

## Retirement

Squadron Leader Martin William Passfield is retired with effect from 17 August 1987.