The commission and age for retirement of Flying Officer P. M. Rowe are extended until 10 August 1998.

Transfers to Reserve

Special Duties Division

Wing Commander Reginald Paul Warren is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 4 September 1989, with effect from 5 September 1987.

Flight Lieutenant Morris David Burke, A.F.M., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 14 September 1989, with effect from 15 September 1987.

Transfer to Retired List

Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader Alan Gilbert Froggatt is transferred to the Retired List 'A' with effect from 29 August 1987.

Education Branch

Transfer to Reserve

Squadron Leader Barry Graham Clark, B.SC., DIP.TCHG, is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 1 April 1988, with effect from 15 October 1987.

Medical Branch

Promotion

Flight Lieutenant (*temp.* Squadron Leader) R. L. Ewing, B.SC., M.B., CH.B., to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 1 October 1987.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader (*temp.* Wing Commander) A. M. Thomson, M.B., CH.B., D.T.M. and H., D.C.H., are extended until 15 January 1990.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader (*temp.* Wing Commander) K. E. Wardill, M.B., B.S., F.R.C.S.(C), F.R.A.C.S., are extended until 16 September 1991.

Transfer

Wing Commander D. G. Simpson, B.A., is transferred from the General Reserve to the Active Reserve until 4 June 1989, with effect from 5 June 1987.

Dated at Wellington this 30th day of November 1987.

R. J. TIZARD, Minister of Defence. 32 go1615

Education

Education Act 1964

Wairarapa Community Polytechnic Notice 1987

Pursuant to section 69 of the Education Act 1964 the Minister of Education gives the following notice.

Notice

1. (a) This notice may be cited as the Wairarapa Community Polytechnic Notice 1987.

(b) This notice shall come into force on the date of its publication in the *Gazette*.

2. There shall be a board of governors to be known as the Wairarapa Community Polytechnic Council which shall control the Wairarapa Community Polytechnic.

3. The Wairarapa Community Polytechnic Council shall be constituted as follows:

(a) One member appointed by the Wairarapa United Council after consultation with Masterton Borough Council,

the Masterton County Council and the Masterton Trust Lands $\ensuremath{\mathsf{Trust}}$.

(b) Two members, one of whom shall be a woman, appointed by the Wairarapa United Council after consultation with Kuranui College Board of Governors, Featherston Borough Council, Featherston County Council, Martinborough Borough Council, Greytown Borough Council, Carterton Borough Council and Wairarapa South County Council. Both members shall reside in the region serviced by these organisations.

(c) One member appointed by the Wairarapa United Council after consultation with Tararua College Committee of Management, the Pahiatua County Council, the Pahiatua Borough Council and the Eketahuna County Council. The member shall reside in the region serviced by these organisations.

(d) One member appointed by the Wairarapa Maori Executive/Taiwhenua.

(e) One member, who shall be resident in the region serviced by the Polytechnic, appointed by the Maori Women's Welfare League (Inc.)

(f) One member appointed by the Wairarapa Community Action Programme Board to represent the non-formal educational groups.

(g) One member who shall be a woman appointed by the National Council of Women (Wairarapa) Inc. after consultation with early childhood and parent education groups in the Wairarapa.

(h) One member appointed jointly by the Taratahi Agricultural Training Centre and the Federated Farmers of New Zealand, Wairarapa Provincial District Inc.

(i) One member elected by the governing bodies of the schools specified in the Schedule to this notice.

(j) One member appointed by the Wairarapa Regional Development Council to represent employers and regional special purpose authorities.

(k) One member appointed by the Wairarapa Council of Trade Unions.

(1) One member who shall be the principal of the Wairarapa Community Polytechnic.

(m) One member who shall represent the staff of the Wairarapa Community Polytechnic and who shall be elected by the permanent (including permanent part-time) tutors and permanent (including permanent part-time) ancillary staff employed by the council and who shall be a permanent (or permanent part-time) staff member employed by the council.

(n) (i) One member, who shall be a student of the Wairarapa Community Polytechnic and who shall be elected by the students of the college;

(ii) The member appointed pursuant to subparagraph (i) of this paragraph shall hold office from the 1st day of February in the year, and if on that date the appointment of a successor has not been notified to the council that member shall continue to hold office until the date on which the appointment is notified.

(o) Not more than 3 members co-opted by the council itself if and when it thinks fit in order to ensure a balanced representation of the region.

4. (a) Subject to the provisions of this clause and to the provisions of clause 3 (n) of this notice every member of the Wairarapa Community Polytechnic Council shall hold office for a term of 3 years but may, from time to time be reappointed or re-elected.

(b) Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in subclause (a) of this clause every co-opted member of the council shall be appointed for such term, not exceeding 3 years, as the council thinks fit.