Rotorua Trout Fishing District Anglers Notice (No. 4012)

PURSUANT to section 71 of the Fisheries Act 1983, the Department of Internal Affairs hereby gives the following District Anglers Notice.

NOTICE

1. Title and commencement—This notice may be cited as the Rotorua Trout Fishing District Anglers Notice 1987, and shall come into force on 26 March 1987.

2. Interpretation—(1) In this notice, unless the context otherwise requires—

- "Artificial fly" includes any lure of feather, fur, wool, or other material of any kind customarily used in the making of artificial flies; but does not include any lure in the tying of which lead or other weight has been incorporated unless the hook incorporated in the lure does not exceed 20 mm in length (being the horizontal straight line distance from the rear of the eye of the hook to the rear of the bend) and the gap (being the distance from the point of the hook to the underside of the nearest part of the hook shank above the point) does not exceed 7 mm and the hook is not larger than size No. 8 ("Redditch" scale):
- "Artificial minnow" includes spoonbait, any lure in the tying of which lead or other weight has been incorporated to facilitate the casting or sinking of the lure, and any lure which incorporates a spinning device or a device to impart a wobbling or irregular motion of the lure:
- "Boat" includes a launch or other vessel; and also includes any canoe, punt, or raft, and any aircraft or hovercraft on the surface of the water:
- "Foulhook", in relation to any fish, means to take the trout with a hook otherwise than through the mouth:

"Landmark" means a black and yellow ringed post or buoy:

"Length", in relation to any trout, means the total length from the tip of the snout to the tip of the tail:

"Lure" means any artificial or natural fly, and any artificial minnow:

"Natural fly" includes spiders and insects; but does not include anything the use of which is prohibited by clause 9(1)(c) of this notice:

- "River" or "stream" includes any lake or impoundment of waters thereon, whether natural or artificial; and also includes any artificial watercourse:
- "Take" and all references thereto includes taking, fishing for, catching, killing, or pursuing by any means or device; and also includes the attempt to take.

(2) Words and expressions in this notice which are defined in the Fisheries Act 1983 or the Freshwater Fisheries Regulations 1983 shall, unless the context otherwise requires, have the meanings so defined.

3. Application of this notice—This notice shall apply to the Rotorua District.

4. Open season—Fishing for trout by licence holders shall be permitted during the open season which shall be—

(a) In respect of the following waters:

(i) Lakes Okareka, Maraetai, Whakamaru, Atiamuri, Ohakuri, Aratiatia Lake up to Huka Falls, Lake Rotokura and Dry Lake (commonly known as the Karioi Lakes) and the Tiniroto and Putere Lakes;

(ii) Lake Rotorua excluding those waters which lead into the Ohau Channel and which are inwardly bounded by landmarks:

(iii) That part of Lake Rotoiti abutting the southern shoreline between landmarks situated at Ruato and Hinehopu and extending from that shoreline for a distance of 100 metres into Lake Rotoiti:

(iv) The Kaituna River (excluding tributary streams) downstream of the flow control structure marking the outlet of Lake Rotoiti:

(v) The Rangitaiki River (excluding tributary streams) and impoundments downstream of its confluence with the Otamatea Stream (but excluding that part specified in clause 6 (e)):

(vi) The Whakatane River (excluding tributary streams) downstream of its confluence with the Owaka Stream:

(vii) The Waimana River downstream of the Reid Road bridge:

(viii) The Wairoa River downstream of the Te Reinga Falls:

(ix) The Waikaretaheke River downstream of the Piripaua power house:

(x) The Waiau River downstream of its confluence with the Waikaretaheke River:

(xi) The Mohaka River and its tributaries that lie within the district downstream of the Pakaututu Road bridge:

(xii) The Wanganui River (excluding tributory streams) downstream of its confluence with the Whakapapa River: from the 1st day of July in any year to the 30th day of June in the year next following (both days inclusive).

(b) In respect of Lake Waikaremoana, from the 1st day of July in any year to the 31st day of July next following (both days inclusive) and from the 1st day of October in any year to the 30th day of June in the year next following.

- (c) In respect of rivers and streams flowing into Lake Rotorua (excluding those springs and streams in clause 6 (b) and (c)) or Lake Waikaremoana (but excluding Lake Waikareiti, and that part of the Hopuruahine River from its source to the main Rotorua-Wairoa highway bridge which crosses this river at the head of the falls), from the 1st day of December in any year to the 30th day of June in the year next following (both days inclusive).
- (d) In respect of the following waters:

(i) The waters between landmarks approximately 150 metres downstream of the Lake Tarawera Outlet and the falls approximately 2500 metres downstream from the outlet:

(ii) The Hopuruahine River from its source to the main Rotorua-Wairoa highway bridge which crosses this river at the head of the falls:

from the 1st day of October in any year to the 31st day of May in the year next following.

(e) In respect of all other waters, except those specified in clause 6, from the 1st day of October in any year to the 30th day of June in the year next following.

5. Bag and size limits—(1) No licence holder shall on any one day take and keep more than 8 trout, irrespective of species.

(2) No licence holder shall have any trout in his possession which does not exceed 35 cm in length or, in the case of trout taken from any of the following waters in the district, does not exceed 30 cm in length:

(a) Any river or stream which flows into the Bay of Plenty:

(b) Any of the Tiniroto Lakes:

- (c) The Wanganui River and its tributaries:
- (d) The Whangaehu River and its tributaries:
- (e) The Mohaka River and its tributaries:
- (f) The Putere Lakes.

6. Fishing in closed season prohibited—No licence holder shall take trout during the closed season which shall be—

(1) From the 1st day of July in any year to the 30th day of June in the year next following in respect of the following waters—

(a) All streams which flow into Lake Tarawera and that portion of the Tarawera River enclosed by landmarks at the lake outlet and extending approximately 150 metres downstream to landmarks.

(b) All tributaries to the Utuhina Stream.

(c) The following springs or streams, or parts thereof, which flow into Lake Rotorua:

- (i) The Waiowhiro Stream and its tributaries:
- (ii) The Hamurana Stream and springs upstream from the main-road bridge:
- (iii) The Awahou Stream and its tributaries upstream from the main-road bridge:
- (iv) The Waiohewa Stream:
- (v) The Waingaehe Stream:
- (vi) That part of the Utuhina Stream upstream of the Pukehangi Road bridge:
- (vii) The Waikuta Stream

(d) All springs, streams, and their tributaries which flow into or from the following lakes:

- (i) Lake Rotoma:
- (ii) Lake Rotoehu:
- (iii) Lake Rotomahana:
- (iv) Lake Rerewhakaaitu:
- (v) Lake Rotokakahi:
- (vi) Lake Okareka:
- (vii) Lake Okataina: