Designation: West Auckland Civil Defence Area Controller. Time and Date of Declaration: 10 a.m., 18 July 1988.

Gaming and Lotteries Act 1977

Appointments to the New Zealand Lottery Board Under Section 116A (2) (d) of the Gaming and Lotteries Act 1977

On 25 August 1988 the Governor-General re-appointed the following members of the New Zealand Lottery Board under section 116A (2) (d) of the Gaming and Lotteries Act 1977.

Mr John Desmond Todd of Wellington

for a further term of office ending 16 September 1989.

Dame Dorothy Fraser of Dunedin

for a further term of office ending 16 September 1990.

Mrs Lorna Elva Slade of Auckland

for a further term of office ending 16 September 1991.

MICHAEL BASSETT, Minister of Internal Affairs. go10197

Local Government Act 1974

Waimate Borough — Waimate County Union Order 1988

PAUL REEVES, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 29th day of August 1988.

Present

THE RIGHT HON. DAVID LANGE PRESIDING

Pursuant to section 36 of the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following Order:

Order

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Waimate Borough—Waimate County Union Order 1988.
- (2) This order shall come into force on the day after the day on which the Returning Officer declares the result of the election, or on the 1st day of April 1989, whichever is the later.
- (3) Those provisions of this Order necessary to provide for:
 - (a) The first election of members of the District Council; and
- (b) The appointment of the Principal Administrative Officer, pursuant to clause 7 (2) of this order;

shall come into force on the day of the making of this Order.

- **2.** Constitution—(1) The districts of Waimate Borough and Waimate County are hereby united into one district to be known as the Waimate District (hereinafter referred to as "the united district").
- (2) The Waimate Borough Council and the Waimate County Council (hereinafter referred to as "the uniting authorities") are hereby dissolved.
- (3) A council for the united district to be known as the "Waimate District Council" (hereinafter referred to as "the district council") is hereby constituted.
- ${f 3. \ Ridings}$ —The united district is hereby divided into nine ridings as follows:

The Waimate Riding; comprising the area of the former Waimate Borough;

The Hakataramea Riding, comprising the area of the Hakataramea riding of the former Waimate County;

The Upper Pareora Riding, comprising the area of the Upper Pareora Riding of the former Waimate County;

The Lower Pareora Riding, comprising the area of the Lower Pareora Riding of the former Waimate County;

The Otaio Riding, comprising the area of the Otaio Riding of the former Waimate County;

The Makikihi Riding, comprising the area of the Makikihi Riding of the former Waimate County;

The Deep Creek Riding, comprising the area of the Deep Creek Riding of the former Waimate County;

The Upper Waihao Riding, comprising the area of the Upper Waihao Riding of the former Waimate County;

The Lower Waihao Riding, comprising the area of the Lower Waihao Riding of the former Waimate County.

- **4. First Election of Council**—(1) The first election of the district council shall be held on the 29th day of March 1989.
- (2) For the purpose of arranging the first election of the district council, the principal administrative officer and the returning officer for the united district shall be the county clerk of the former Waimate County.
- (3) The first general election of the district council shall be conducted by postal vote.
- (4) The Local Elections and Polls Act 1976, the Local Government Act 1974, and the Local Government (Electoral and Survey) Regulations 1986 shall, subject to any necessary modifications, apply in respect of the holding of the first general election of members to the district council.
- **5. Membership of Council**—(1) The district council shall comprise a Mayor to be elected by the electors of the united district as a whole, and 13 members to be elected as follows:
- 5 members to be elected by the electors of the Waimate Riding;
- 1 member to be elected by the electors of the Hakataramea Riding;
- 1 member to be elected by the electors of the Upper Pareora Riding;
- 1 member to be elected by the electors of the Lower Pareora Riding;
 - 1 member to be elected by the electors of the Otaio Riding;
- 1 member to be elected by the electors of the Makikihi Riding;
- 1 member to be elected by the electors of the Deep Creek Riding;
- 1 member to be elected by the electors of the Upper Waihao Riding;
- $1\ \mbox{member}$ to be elected by the electors of the Lower Waihao Riding.
- (2) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 56 of the Local Government Act 1974, no alteration to the basis of election or to the boundaries of the ridings constituted by clause 5 of this order shall be made prior to the review of the basis of election required pursuant to section 56 of the Local Government Act 1974 to be undertaken in the year preceding the triennial general election of members of local authorities to be held in 1995
- **6. First Meeting of Council**—The first meeting of the district council shall be convened by the person holding the office of principal administrative officer appointed pursuant to clause 7 (2) of this order.
- **7. Mayor and principal administrative officer**—(1) The Mayor of the united district shall exercise the duties, powers, and functions of the Mayor and Chairman of the districts of the uniting authorities.
- (2) The county clerk of the former Waimate County Council shall be the principal administrative officer of the district council. The town clerk of the former Waimate Borough Council shall be the deputy of the principal administrative officer of the district council.