4. Title: Improvised Rocket Motors; Publisher: Desert Publications.

G. W. LUDLOW, Assistant Comptroller of Customs. go11264

Defence

Defence Act 1971

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Administrator of the Government has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

REGULAR FORCE

Appointments to Commission

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of Lieutenant and Quartermaster, with seniority from 9 June 1986 and effect from 4 July 1988; terminating on the date shown:

Warrant Officer Class I Alan Howard Chambers, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers, 23 October 1995.

Temporary Warrant Officer Class I Timothy Hopkins, D.P.H., Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps, 6 December 1998.

Warrant Officer Class I Owen Rutherford Lloyd, Royal N.Z. Corps of Transport, 10 February 1996.

Warrant Officer Class I Grahame Swinford Loveday, Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps, 17 March 1998.

Temporary Warrant Officer Class I Allan MacGibbon, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers, 19 August 1997.

Warrant Officer Class I Craig Roy Nickerson, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers, 19 February 1998.

Warrant Officer Class I William Ernest Rawiri, B.E.M., N.Z. Intelligence Corps, 3 April 1998.

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Lieutenant Colonel Angus James Rivers is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 26 August 1988.

Lieutenant Colonel J. S. Heard is re-engaged until 25 April 1998.

Major Andrew George Hatt, E.D., B.C.A., is transferred from the Territorial Force on a fixed engagement of 5 years in his present rank, with seniority from 20 December 1987 and effect from 1 August 1988.

Temporary Captain and Quartermaster A. A. Mitchell is transferred to the Supernumerary List with effect from 8 June 1988.

Lieutenant B. J. Lyons to be temporary Captain with effect from 12 August 1988.

Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps

Lieutenant Colonel R. K. Storey, DIP.ARTS(MIL.), to be temporary Colonel with effect from 25 July 1988.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers

Captain and Quartermaster E. W. Bruce, M.B.E., N.Z.C.B., is transferred to the Special List in the rank of temporary Major, with seniority from 1 July 1984 and effect from 1 July 1988.

Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals

Temporary Major A. F. Birch to be Major with seniority and effect from 30 July 1988.

Captain C. P. Richardson, B.A.(MIL.), to be acting Major with effect from 4 July 1988.

Lieutenant K. S. Cooke to be temporary Captain with effect from 7 July 1988.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Acting Colonel J. S. Harman relinquishes the acting rank of Colonel with effect from $23\ \text{August}\ 1988.$

Temporary Major J. Mateparae to be Major with seniority and effect from 11 August 1988.

Temporary Major E. Bright, M.M., is transferred to the Supernumerary List with effect from $11\ March\ 1988$.

Acting Major R. S. Campbell to be temporary Major with effect from 17 July 1988.

Captain Pae-pae Tiriki Wiki is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 2 August 1988.

Lieutenant B. J. McLauchlan, LL.B., to be temporary Captain with effect from 12 August 1988.

Supernumerary List

The engagement of Captain and Quartermaster L. J. Johnson is extended until 31 May 1990.

Royal N.Z. Corps of Transport

Colonel Commandant

Brigadier T. J. Leighs, C.B.E., E.D.**, Retired List, is appointed Colonel Commandant, Royal N.Z. Corps of Transport, with effect from 1 September 1988, for a period of 4 years terminating on 31 March 1992, vice Lieutenant Colonel R. J. Walton, C.M.G., O.B.E., Q.P.M., E.D.*, Retired List.

Lieutenant T. B. Cameron to be temporary Captain with effect from 11 July 1988.

Supernumerary List

The engagement of Captain and Quartermaster G. R. Waaka, M.B.E., is extended until 12 February 1994.

Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps

Major Joseph Seymour Bolton is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 30 July 1988.

Sergeant Wayne Peter Boustridge is appointed to a commission in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority from 21 December 1987 and effect from 8 July 1988.

Supernumerary List

The engagement of Major H. C. Zavahir is extended until 31 October 1993.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers

Lieutenant M. T. Williams to be temporary Captain with effect from 8 June 1988.

Temporary Captain and Quartermaster Maurice John Alderwick is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Captain and Quartermaster, with effect from 24 August 1988.

Supernumerary List

The engagement of Major and Quartermaster B. J. Manley is extended until 31 August 1991.

Temporary Major and Quartermaster D. J. Mowat, M.B.E., to be Major and Quartermaster with seniority from 9 January 1988 and effect from 22 July 1988.