Availability

The New Zealand Gazette is available on subscription from the Government Printing Office Publications Division or over the counter from Government Bookshops at:

Hanna Burton Building, 25 Rutland Street, Auckland.

33 Kings Street, Frankton, Hamilton.

25-27 Mercer Street, Wellington.

Mulgrave Street, Wellington.

E.S.T.V. House, 4185 Queens Drive, Lower Hutt.

159 Hereford Street, Christchurch.

Government Building, 1 George Street, Palmerston North.

Cargill House, 123 Princes Street, Dunedin.

Other issues of the Gazette:

Commercial Edition—published weekly on Wednesdays.

Customs Edition-Published weekly on Tuesdays.

Special Editions and Supplements—Published as and when required.

Government Notices

Defence

Defence Act 1971

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

General Duties Branch

Appointments

Flight Lieutenant R. W. Irons, B.C.A., to be temporary Squadron Leader with effect from 8 August 1988.

Robert William Demetro Yanow, B.A., is appointed to a commission on a fixed engagement of 5 years in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 9 January 1984 and effect from 9 January 1987.

Promotions

Temporary Squadron Leader J. K. Duxfield, B.Sc., to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 2 July 1988.

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 23 August 1988:

R. G. Pirihi, B.sc.(Hons).

M. Allen.

P. G. Cheal.

Flying Officer J. S. Finlayson to be acting Flight Lieutenant with effect from 21 July 1988, temporary Flight Lieutenant with effect from 1 August 1988, and Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 23 August 1988.

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 23 August 1988:

C. J. Mehlhopt.

R. A. Smits.

P. R. Turvey (temporary Flight Lieutenant).

P. M. Walters

The following Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers with seniority and effect from 5 August 1988:

C. Smith.

A. J. Greaves.

W. P. Wallace.

K. N. Wilton.

I. A. Tuke.

P. R. Tighe-Umbers.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader D. S. Glendinning are extended until 11 May 1994.

Transfers to Reserve

Squadron Leader Kevin Brian Young is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 12 August 1992, with effect from 13 August 1988.

Flight Lieutenant Bruce Hugh MacIntosh is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 31 July 1992, with effect from 1 August 1988.

Flight Lieutenant Wade John Quickfall is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 9 September 1992, with effect from 10 September 1988.

Engineer Branch

Promotions

Flying Officer A. J. Woods, B.E. (HONS), to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 10 July 1988.

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 5 August 1988:

P. B. Griffin, N.Z.C.E.

P. D. Wooding, B.E.

The following Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers with seniority and effect from 4 August 1988:

D. M. Bretherton, N.Z.C.E.

M. L. Dixon, N.Z.C.E.

S. W. Iggo, N.Z.C.E.

D. A. Mahoney, N.Z.C.E.

C. J. Natapu, N.Z.C.E.

Transfer to Reserve

Wing Commander David John Dilks, B.E.(HONS), N.Z.C.E., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 16 August 1990, with effect from 17 August 1988.

Administrative and Supply Branch

Appointments

Supply Division

Squadron Leader J. B. McLean to be temporary Wing Commander with effect from 18 July 1988.