Defence

Defence Act 1971

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

REGULAR FORCE

Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps

Temporary Captain W. E. J. Longley to be Captain with seniority from 27 January 1988 and effect from 14 September 1988.

Temporary Captain and Quartermaster S. G. Thompson, N.Z.C.C., to be Captain and Quartermaster with seniority from 16 July 1988 and effect from 25 August 1988.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers

Supernumerary List

Captain and Quartermaster J. W. Lock to be acting Major and Quartermaster with effect from 28 September 1988.

Acting Major and Quartermaster M. A. Oliver relinquishes his acting rank with effect from 14 October 1988.

Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals

Lieutenant Colonel Edward John Knowsley is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 2 September 1988.

Temporary Captain K. M. Pascoe to be Captain with seniority from 20 December 1987 and effect from 30 September 1988.

2nd Lieutenant M. S. Ayers: with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 10 March 1988, No. 42, page 884, for the names "Stuart Malcom" substitute "Malcom Stuart".

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Lieutenant Colonel Anthony Gordon Howell, M.C., is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 2 September 1988.

Major R. P. F. Schmidt is transferred to the Supernumerary List with effect from 3 October 1988.

Acting Major K. J. Burnett relinquishes his acting rank with effect from 14 October 1988.

The following temporary Captains to be Captain with seniority from the date shown and effect from 30 September 1988:

T. G. Mitchell, 5 January 1987.

T. M. Tarsau, 2 March 1987.

P. M. King, 20 December 1987.

J. L. W. Sandman, 12 June 1988.

E. B. Crisp, 13 June 1988.

Temporary Captain and Quartermaster G. R. Edwards to be Captain and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from 24 September 1988.

Temporary Captain Neil Marshall is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Captain, with effect from 17 October 1988.

Lieutenant T. R. Jamie to be temporary Captain with effect from 5 September 1988.

Lieutenant A. J. Hacker to be acting Captain with effect from 28 September 1988.

Lieutenant Daniel Eruera Surrige is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 26 September 1988.

The N.Z. Special Air Service

Captain and Quartermaster W. J. Lillicrapp is transferred to the Supernumerary List with effect from 23 October 1988.

Royal N.Z. Corps of Transport

Lieutenant Colonel Roger Winston Thomson is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 7 October 1988.

Major Terence Joseph Byrne is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 14 October 1988.

The seniority of Lieutenant F. R. Cassidy is post-dated to 3 November 1986.

Lieutenant M. J. Burford to be acting Captain with effect from 28 September 1988.

Acting Captain G. P. Davies relinquishes his acting rank with effect from 14 October 1988.

Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps

Captain and Quartermaster R. D. Boyle is transferred to the Supernumerary List with effect from 2 September 1988.

Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps

Acting Lieutenant Colonel Eric Ronald Adams is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Lieutenant Colonel, with effect from 6 September 1988.

Temporary Captain Hugh Jeffrey Carson is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Captain, with effect from 13 September 1988.

Lieutenant Andrew James Blair is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 17 October 1988.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers

Captain David Christopher Meatyard is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 21 September 1988.

Temporary Captain H. A. R. Elgar, B.A., to be Captain with seniority from 12 December 1987 and effect from 30 September 1988.

Temporary Captain and Quartermaster P. J. Stitt to be Captain and Quartermaster with seniority and effect from 1 October 1988.

Royal N.Z. Dental Corps

Major Kenneth Marshall Young, B.D.S., is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 15 September 1988.

Royal N.Z. Military Police

Lieutenant Andrew Keith Standish, B.E.D.(HONS), Royal Military Police, is appointed to the Regular Force on a fixed engagement of 5 years in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 1 July 1986 and effect from 1 July 1988.

Royal N.Z. Army Education Corps

The seniority of Captain C. M. Webster, B.A.(HONS), is post-dated to 20 September 1987.

Lieutenant C. L. Bennett, B.A.(PSYCH.), to be Captain with seniority from 1 September 1987 and effect from 25 August 1988.

Lieutenant K. A. Mirfin, B.SC.(HONS), is re-engaged until 17 February 1990.

Lieutenant R. J. Taylor, B.SOC.SC.: with reference to the notices published in *Gazettes*, 10 September 1987, No. 152, page 4224, and 15 September 1988, No. 157, page 3636, for "RNZIR" substitute "RNZAEC".