Internal Affairs

Local Government Act 1974

Motueka Borough, Richmond Borough and Waimea County Union Order 1988

PAUL REEVES, Governor-General ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 12th day of December 1988

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to section 36 of the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order:

Order

- 1. Title and commencement—(1) This order may be cited as the Motueka Borough—Richmond Borough—Waimea County Union Order 1988.
- (2) Except as provided in subclause (3) of this clause this order shall come into force on the day after the day on which the returning officer declares the result of the election held pursuant to clause 5 of this order or on the 1st day of April 1989, whichever is the later.
- (3) The provisions of this order necessary to provide for:
 - (a) the first election of the members of the Tasman District Council constituted pursuant to clause 2 of this order; and
 - (b) the constitution of the transition committee pursuant to clause 9 of this order,

shall come into force on the day of the making of this order.

- 2. Constitution—(1) The districts of
 - (a) Motueka Borough,
 - (b) Richmond Borough and
 - (c) Waimea County (excluding the Whangamoa Riding and that part of the Appleby Riding included in the City of Nelson by the Nelson City—Waimea County Boundary Alteration Order 1988)

are hereby united into one district to be known as the Tasman District (hereinafter referred to as the "new district").

- (2) The Motueka Borough Council, Richmond Borough Council and Waimea County Council (hereinafter referred to as the "former authorities") are hereby dissolved.
- (3) A council for the new district to be known as the "Tasman District Council" (hereinafter referred to as the "district council") is hereby constituted.
- 3. Wards—The new district is hereby divided into five wards as follows:
 - (a) the Lakes Ward, comprising the Murchison South, Murchison North, and Wangapeka Ridings of the former Waimea County;
 - (b) the Richmond Ward, comprising the former Borough of Richmond and parts of the Appleby Riding and the Central Riding of the former Waimea County;
 - (c) the Waimea Ward, comprising the Wai-iti Riding and the southwest part of the Appleby Riding of the former Waimea County;
 - (d) the Moutere Ward, comprising most of the Central Riding and part of the Motueka Riding of the former Waimea County; and
 - (e) the Motueka Ward, comprising the former Borough of Motueka and part of the Motueka Riding and of the Moutere Riding of the former Waimea County;

- as more particularly delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14377 deposited in the office of the Chief Surveyor in Nelson.
- **4. Membership of the Tasman District Council**—The district council shall comprise a Mayor, elected by the electors of the new district as a whole, and 14 members elected as follows:
 - 2 members by the electors of the Lakes Ward;
 - 4 members by the electors of the Richmond Ward;
 - 2 members by the electors of the Waimea Ward;
 - 2 members by the electors of the Moutere Ward; and
 - 4 members by the electors of the Motueka Ward.
- 5. First election of council—(1) The first general election of the district council shall be held on the 29th day of March 1989
- (2) For the purpose of arranging the first election of the district council, the principal administrative officer for the new district shall be the person appointed to the position of chief executive officer by the former authorities and the returning officer shall be the county manager of the former Waimea County.
- (3) The first general election of the district council shall be conducted by postal vote.
- **6. First meeting of council**—The first meeting of the district council shall be convened by the person appointed to the position of chief executive officer by the former authorities.
- 7. Ward committees—(1) The district council shall, at least until the 31st day of March 1995, establish and maintain a ward committee for each ward of the district.
- (2) Each ward committee shall comprise the members of the district council elected to represent that ward, and 4 other persons appointed by the district council under section 104 of the Local Government Act 1974.
- (3) The functions, duties, and powers of the Motueka Ward Committee shall be the functions, duties and powers of a district community council under Part XLI of the Local Government Act 1974.
- **8. Nelson Bays United Council**—(1) The district council shall be entitled to appoint 7 members to the Nelson Bays United Council.
- (2) Those members of the Nelson Bays United Council appointed separately by the former authorities shall continue in office until such time as a regional council for a region which includes the new district as a constituent district is constituted.
- 9. Transition committee—(1) A transition committee, hereinafter referred to as "the committee", with the structure, functions, and method of operation set out in this clause, shall be established by the former authorities as soon as possible but no later than 30 days, after the date of notification of this order in the Gazatte.
- (2) The committee shall be deemed to be a committee appointed under section 105 of the Local Government Act 1974.
- (3) The committee shall comprise:
 - (a) 3 members appointed by the Waimea County Council;
 - (b) 3 members appointed by the Richmond Borough Council;
 - (c) 3 members appointed by the Motueka Borough Council;
 - (d) the town clerks of the Borough of Richmond and the Borough of Motueka, the County Clerk of Waimea County, and the person appointed to the position of chief executive officer by the former authorities, each of whom shall be members ex officio of the committee but without voting rights.
- (4) For the purposes of this clause, the Motueka Borough