Service List of the Territorial Force in his present rank and seniority, with effect from 28 September 1987, terminating on 18 December 1987.

Captain Nicholas John Batchelor, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment, reverts to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 20 October 1987.

## **ARMY RESERVE**

## General List of Officers

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers

Lieutenant G. E. Pullen, N.Z.C.D., is transferred to the Regular Force with effect from 12 November 1987.

Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps

2nd Lieutenant N. M. Vandermolen is transferred to the Territorial Force with effect from 9 September 1987.

The following officers are posted to the Retired List with effect from the date shown:

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Lieutenant David Samuel Marks, 16 November 1987.

Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps

Major Neville James Watt, 22 September 1987.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers

Captain Mark Gerard Thompson, B.SC., B.E.(HONS), N.Z.C.B., 7 July 1987.

Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals

Major Edward John Howard, 28 November 1987.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) and Quartermaster Gary Lionel Burnett, 9 November 1987 (in the rank of Captain and Quartermaster).

Lieutenant and Quartermaster Keith Albert Garwood, 9 November 1987.

Lieutenant and Quartermaster Ian George Dennis, 17 December 1987.

Royal N.Z. Corps of Transport

Lieutenant Colonel Peter McElwain Faulkner, E.D., 19 November 1987.

Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps

Captain (temp. Major) Nigel James Warden, M.B., CH.B., F.R.C.S., D.O., R.C.P. and R.C.S., 26 November 1987 (in the rank of Major).

Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps

Lieutenant Nigel Angus Guildford, 15 December 1987.

Royal N.Z. Chaplains' Department

Chaplain Class III John Martin Collins, (Roman Catholic), 20 December 1987.

Royal N.Z. Army Education Corps

Major Carolyn Joan Marquand, M.A.(HONS), DIP.N., 9 July

Major Wallace Keith Westwater, B.SC., DIP.ED., 3 December 1987.

Retired List

Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Major W. A. Blair, B.A.(HONS), is transferred to the Regular Force with effect from 9 November 1987.

Dated at Wellington this 29th day of January 1988.

RUSSELL MARSHALL, Acting Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Navy

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Naval Forces.

## ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

Captain Christopher John Carl, O.B.E., is placed on the Retired List of the RNZN with effect from 13 December 1987.

Commander David Bell is placed on the Retired List of the RNZN with effect from 13 November 1987.

Commander (temp. Captain) K. F. Wilson, L.V.O., to be Captain with seniority and effect from 4 December 1987.

Commander J. G. Peddie to be acting Captain with effect from 3 December 1987, and temp. Captain with effect from 4 December 1987.

Surgeon Commander P. H. Robinson, L.V.O., M.B., CH.B., M.SC.(LOND.), to be Surgeon Captain with seniority and effect from 15 December 1987.

Lieutenant Commander (temp. Commander) P. A. Stanley, B.SC., to be Commander with seniority and effect from 19 January 1988.

Lieutenant Commander G. F. Nixey, M.B.E., to be acting Commander with effect from 17 November 1987, and temp. Commander with effect from 19 November 1987.

Lieutenant Commander G. A. Clark to be acting Commander with effect from 17 July 1987.

Lieutenant Commander R. G. G. Sanson to be acting Commander with effect from 16 December 1987.

Lieutenant Commander R. T. Jackson, B.Sc., to be Commander with seniority and effect from 18 January 1988.

Lieutenant Commander (temp. Commander) R. D. Cass, B.SC., to be Commander with seniority and effect from 20 January 1988.

Lieutenant Commander Robert Douglas Muir, B.E.(ELECT.), is placed on the Emergency List of Officers of the Naval Reserves until 9 January 1990, with effect from 10 January 1988.

Lieutenant Commander Darrell Geoffrey Johnson, DIP.TCHG, is placed on the Retired List of the RNZN with effect from 12 January 1988.

Lieutenant M. J. Chapman, B.A., LL.B., to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 16 November 1987.

Lieutenant G. R. St C. Medcalf to be temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 17 November 1987, and Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 22 November 1987.

Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant Commander) I. F. Harris to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 1 January 1988.

Lieutenant (temp. Lieutenant Commander) Brian Denis McBrearty is placed on the Retired List of the RNZN, in the rank of Lieutenant Commander, with effect from 19 December 1987.

Lieutenant P. J. Williams, B.E.(ELECT.), to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 22 November 1987.

Lieutenant G. O. Harvey to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 1 December 1987.

Lieutenant J. A. Easton to be temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 15 October 1987.

Lieutenant L. J. Seerup, N.Z.C.E., to be temp. Lieutenant Commander with effect from 14 December 1987.

180

go1293