- Ohau Channel and which are inwardly bounded by landmarks:
- (iii) That part of Lake Rotoiti abutting the southern shoreline between landmarks situated at Ruato and Hinehopu and extending from that shoreline for a distance of 100 metres into Lake Rotoiti:
- (iv) That part of Lake Okataina abutting the northern shoreline between landmarks situated at Te Koutu Point and west of the Okataina Lodge and extending from the shoreline for a distance of 100 metres into Lake Okataina:
- (v) The Kaituna River (excluding tributary streams) downstream of the flow control structure marking the outlet of Lake Rotoiti:
- (vi) The Rangitaiki River (excluding tributary streams) and impoundments downstream of its confluence with the Otamatea Stream (but excluding that part specified in clause 6 (e)):
- (vii) The Whakatane River (excluding tributary streams) downstream of its confluence with the Owaka Stream:
- (viii) The Waimana River downstream of the Reid Road bridge:
- (ix) The Wairoa River downstream of the Te Reinga Falls:
- (x) The Waikaretaheke River downstream of the Piripaua powerhouse:
- (xi) The Waiau River downstream of its confluence with the Waikaretaheke River:
- (xii) The Mohaka River and its tributaries that lie within the district downstream of the Pakaututu Road bridge:
- (xiii) The Wanganui River (excluding tributary streams) downstream of its confluence with the Whakapapa River: from the 1st day of July in any year to the 30th day of June in the year next following (both days inclusive).
- (b) In respect of Lake Waikaremoana, from the 1st day of July in any year to the 31st day of July next following (both days inclusive) and from the 1st day of October in any year to the 30th day of June in the year next following.
- (c) In respect of rivers and streams flowing into Lake Rotorua (excluding those springs and streams in clause 6 (b) and (c)) or Lake Waikaremoana (but excluding Lake Waikareiti, and that part of the Hopuruahine River from its source to the main Rotorua-Wairoa highway bridge which crosses this river at the head of the falls), from the 1st day of December in any year to the 30th day of June in the year next following (both days inclusive).
 - (d) In respect of the following waters:
 - (i) The waters between landmarks approximately 150 metres downstream of the Lake Tarawera Outlet and the falls approximately 2500 metres downstream from the outlet:
 - (ii) The Hopuruahine River from its source to the main Rotorua-Wairoa highway bridge which crosses this river at the head of the falls:

from the 1st day of October in any year to the 31st day of May in the year next following.

- (e) In respect of all other waters, except those specified in clause 6, from the 1st day of October in any year to the 30th day of June in the year next following.
- **5. Bag and size limits**—(1) No licence holder shall on any one day take and keep more than 8 trout, irrespective of species.
- (2) No licence holder shall have any trout in his possession which does not exceed 35 cm in length or, in the case of trout taken from any of the following waters in the district, does not exceed 30 cm in length:
 - (a) Any river or stream which flows into the Bay of Plenty:
 - (b) Any of the Tiniroto Lakes:

- (c) The Wanganui River and its tributaries:
- (d) The Whangaehu River and its tributaries:
- (e) The Mohaka River and its tributaries:
- (f) The Putere Lakes.
- (3) Any licence holder taking a male trout within a radius of 200 metres from the centre of the mouth of the Te Wairoa Stream, Lake Tarawera, shall immediately return it with as little injury as possible into the water from which it was taken.
- **6. Fishing in closed season prohibited**—No licence holder shall take trout during the closed season which shall be—(1) From the 1st day of July in any year to the 30th day of June in the year next following in respect of the following waters—
- (a) All streams which flow into Lake Tarawera and that portion of the Tarawera River enclosed by landmarks at the lake outlet and extending approximately 150 metres downstream to landmarks.
 - (b) All tributaries of the Utuhina Stream.
- (c) The following springs or streams, or parts thereof, which flow into Lake Rotorua:
 - (i) The Waiowhiro Stream and its tributaries:
 - (ii) The Hamurana Stream and springs upstream from the main-road bridge:
 - (iii) The Awahou Stream and its tributaries upstream from the main-road bridge:
 - (iv) The Waiohewa Stream:
 - (v) The Waingaehe Stream:
 - (vi) That part of the Utuhina Stream upstream of the Pukehangi Road bridge:
 - (vii) The Waikuta Stream.
- - (i) Lake Rotoma:
 - (ii) Lake Rotoehu:
 - (iii) Lake Rotomahana:
 - (iv) Lake Rerewhakaaitu:
 - (v) Lake Rotokakahi:
 - (vi) Lake Okareka:
 - (vii) Lake Okataina:
 - (viii) Lake Rotoiti, except the Ohau Channel and the Kaituna River.
- (e) The Rangitaiki River for a distance of 80 metres downstream of the edge of the concrete spillway structure at the Aniwhenua barrage.
- (f) All waters in which trout are held in captivity for display, hatching, or other purposes, or from within a distance of 80 metres from such waters or other such distances as defined by landmarks.
- (2) In that portion of any year which is not included in the open season in respect of all other waters.
- **7. Fishing prohibited between certain hours**—No licence holder shall take trout during the period between the hours of 12 midnight and 5 a.m.
- **8. Restrictions on methods of fishing**—(1) No licence holder shall take trout by any means other than with one rod and running line, or use for the purpose of taking trout—
 - (a) Any strokehauling or foulhooking gear; or
 - (b) Any gaff; or
 - (c) Any spear or similar implement; or
- (d) Any hook which has a greater distance than 14 mm between the point and the shank; or
- (e) Any lure having attached thereto more than one hook or a hook that is not a single-pointed or single-barbed hook; or