Defence

Defence Act 1971

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Navy

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Naval Forces.

Royal New Zealand Navy

Captain Edwin Stanley Eide, O.B.E., is placed on the Retired List of the RNZN with effect from 5 September 1989.

Captain J. G. Leonard to be acting Commodore with effect from 15 September 1989.

The appointment of Commander D. N. Wood is extended until 11 April 1993.

Commander D. W. Palmer to be acting Captain with effect from 31 August 1989, and Captain with seniority and effect from 1 September 1989.

The appointments of the following are extended until the date shown:

Commander D. A. Cootes, 15 July 1994.

Acting Commander I. D. C. Ross, 31 August 1993.

Lieutenant Commander W. A. O. Martin, v.R.D.*, 18 October 1992.

Lieutenant Commander B. A. Ward, 13 July 1993.

Lieutenant Commander D. A. Swann, 24 February 1993.

Lieutenant Commander O. J. Hanley, 12 June 1997.

Acting Commander R. G. G. Sanson: the notice published in the *Gazette*, 3 August 1989, No. 136, page 3384, is cancelled.

The appointments of the following are extended until the date shown:

Lieutenant Commander D. G. Pringle, 30 June 1994.

Lieutenant Commander K. M. Mutch, M.B.E., 29 March 1995.

Lieutenant Commander C. Quincey, M.B.E., 8 May 1995.

Temporary Commander C. L. Campbell, M.B.E., 8 November 1994.

Lieutenant Commander K. N. Corles, 1 June 1999.

Lieutenant Commander L. Robbins to be acting Commander with effect from $22\ \text{July }1989.$

Lieutenant Commander K. G. Black, N.Z.C.E. (MECH.) to be acting Commander with effect from 26 August 1989, temporary Commander with effect from 15 September 1989, and his appointment is extended until 12 June 1998.

The following temporary Lieutenant Commanders to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from the date shown:

N. E. Handey, B.E. (ELECT.), 1 August 1989.

G. S. Jackson, N.Z.C.E. (TELECOMS), 1 August 1989.

H. B. Johnson, N.Z.C.E. (MECH.), 1 September 1989.

S. J. Streefkerk, 16 September 1989.

The appointment of temporary Lieutenant Commander S. E. Fletcher, B.SC., is extended until 22 August 1995.

Lieutenant W. J. Tucker, B.E. (MECH.), to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 16 September 1989.

The appointments of the following Lieutenants are extended until the date shown:

L. F. McGuire, B.E.M., 2 May 1994.

G. Brownrigg, L.R.A.M., 2 January 1996.

The appointment of temporary Lieutenant (on prob.) G. M. Sole to the RNZN is confirmed.

Temporary Lieutenant G. F. Turner: with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 3 August 1989, No. 136, page 3384, for the date "26 July 1989" substitute "8 July 1989".

Sub Lieutenant (on prob.) D. L. Murdoch, B.SC.: with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 30 March 1989, No. 58, page 1295, for the name "David" substitute "Davin".

Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander D. G. Jensen, V.R.D., LL.B., is extended until 31 December 1992.

Temporary Lieutenant Commander Mark Jacobs, B.E. (MECH.), N.Z.C.E., is transferred to the Inactive List of the RNZNVR in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 19 April 1983 and effect from 1 May 1989; terminating on 30 April 1994.

Emergency List of Officers of the Naval Reserves

Captain David John Collins, M.B.E., is placed on the Retired List of the RNZN with effect from 1 August 1989.

Dated at Wellington this 26th day of August 1989.

R. J. TIZARD, Minister of Defence.

20

Health

Dental Act 1988

Dental Technicians Board Membership

Pursuant to section 74 of the Dental Act 1988, I hereby appoint

John Newton

John Burton

Pamela Mason

Jenny Neale

Neil Watts

Derek Collier

Ken Pryor

to be members of the Dental Technicians Board for a term of office of 3 years, and appoint

Alan Carleton

to be a member of the Dental Technicians Board for a term of office of ${\bf 1}$ year.

HELEN CLARK, Minister of Health. go15691

5

Members of the Dental Council of New Zealand appointed

Pursuant to section 71 of the Dental Act 1988, I hereby appoint

Glenda Joy Fryer

Barbara Hager

Peter John Collins

to be members of the Dental Council for a term of office of $3\ \text{years}$.