Defence

Defence Act 1971

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

PURSUANT to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:

REGULAR AIR FORCE

General Duties Branch

Appointments

Flight Lieutenant P. J. M. White to temporary Squadron Leader with effect from 24 April 1989.

Master Air Loadmaster Alan Cameron Brown is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 3 May 1989 and effect from 28 July 1989.

The following Air Electronics Operators are appointed to commissions in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 1 May 1989 and effect from 28 July 1989:

Sergeant Simon Franz Eichelbaum.

Temporary Sergeant John William Lovatt.

Promotions

Temporary Group Captain J. S. Barclay, A.F.C., to be Group Captain with seniority from 15 December 1988 and effect from 11 April 1989.

Wing Commander S. D. White to be Group Captain with seniority from 27 February 1989 and effect from 10 May 1989.

Temporary Wing Commander W. E. Matthews to be Wing Commander with seniority and effect from 2 May 1989.

The following to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from the date shown:

Temporary Squadron Leader G. N. McKay, 15 May 1989.

Flight Lieutenant D. R. Williamson, 26 May 1989.

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 2 May 1989:

M. M. Anderson.

M. R. Mehlhopt.

Pilot Officer I. S. Wallis, B.E.(MECH.), to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 4 May 1989.

Extension of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant H. B. Keightley is extended until 28 October 2003.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader H. H. Francis are extended until 29 September 1992.

Engineer Branch

Appointments

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 1 May 1989 and effect from 28 July 1989:

Sergeant Brent Hamilton Hopley.

Corporal Bruce Henry Nielsen.

The following Corporals are appointed to commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 1 May 1989 and effect from 28 July 1989:

Frank Verran Dyer, N.Z.C.E.

Ian James Mower.

Promotions

Temporary Squadron Leader P. K. Rice, N.Z.C.E., to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 15 May 1989.

Temporary Flight Lieutenant R. M. Winks, N.Z.C.E., to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 30 April 1989.

Administration and Supply Branch

Appointments

Secretarial Division

Flight Lieutenant C. W. Anderson to be temporary Squadron Leader with effect from 21 April 1989.

Temporary Corporal Christine Ann Pengelly, N.C.B.S., is appointed to a commission in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 1 May 1989 and effect from 28 July 1989.

Supply Division

The following are appointed to commissions in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 1 May 1989 and effect from 28 July 1989:

Leanne Julie Woon, B.B.S.

David James Keith Yorston, B.COM.

Corporal Timothy John Scott is appointed to a commission in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 1 May 1989 and effect from 28 July 1989.

Special Duties Division

The following Flight Lieutenants to be temporary Squadron Leader with effect from the date shown:

P. M. Nevin, N.Z.C.E., 8 May 1989.

K. J. McKenna, B.SC., M.A.(HONS), 1 May 1989.

Sergeant Bert Severn Smith is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 1 May 1989 and effect from 28 July 1989.

Promotions

Secretarial Division.

Temporary Squadron Leader M. E. Cox to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 9 April 1989.

Supply Division

Temporary Squadron Leader S. B. Baillie to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 15 May 1989.

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer P. J. Neave to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 2 May 1989.

Extensions of Commission and Age for Retirement

Special Duties Division

The commissions and age for retirement of the following are extended until the date shown:

Temporary Squadron Leader P. M. Nevin, N.Z.C.E., 4 February 2000.

Flight Lieutenant R. A. Kells, N.Z.C.B., 20 September 1994.

Transfer to Reserve

Secretarial Division

Squadron Leader Patrick John Lynch is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 21 July 1991, with effect from 22 July 1989.

Education Branch

Appointment

Warrant Officer Brian Stewart Wynn, B.E.M., is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 1 May 1989 and effect from 28 July 1989.