9 FEBRUARY

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

Item No.	Amendment	Statistical Key		
		Code	Unit	Description
	and SUBSTITUTE	02L 05E	pr kg	Drawer slides Handles, pulls, catches, clips and similar articles, suited for use on drawers or cabinets

The above amendments become effective as from 1 March 1989.

Dated at Wellington this 9th day of February 1989. M. W. TAYLOR, Comptroller of Customs.

go1881

Defence

Defence Act 1971

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

Chief of Air Staff

Air Vice Marshal Patrick Neville, C.B., O.B.E., A.F.C., is transferred to the Retired List 'A' with effect from 16 October 1988.

Air Commodore P. R. Adamson, O.B.E., to be Air Vice Marshal with seniority and effect from 16 October 1988, and is appointed Chief of Air Staff for a period terminating on 15 October 1991.

General Duties Branch

Appointments

Wing Commander K. A. Jones is granted the acting rank of Group Captain for the period 10 October 1988 until 27 October 1988.

Wing Commander J. S. Barclay, A.F.C., to be temporary Group Captain with effect from 16 October 1988.

Flight Lieutenant R. P. Vickery to be temporary Squadron Leader with effect from 16 October 1988.

Promotions

Air Commodore A. E. Thomson, C.B.E., A.F.C., to be Air Vice Marshal with seniority and effect from 17 November 1988.

Group Captain J. S. Hosie to be Air Commodore with seniority from 3 November 1988 and effect from 14 November 1988.

Group Captain K. A. Gayfer, A.F.C., to be Air Commodore with seniority from 14 May 1988 and effect from 16 October 1988.

Temporary Squadron Leader R. W. Irons, B.C.A., to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 16 January 1989.

Flight Lieutenant N. J. Tucker to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 29 September 1988.

Flight Lieutenant R. G. Pirihi, B.SC. (HONS): with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 10 November 1988, No. 190, page 4914, for the date "23 August 1988" substitute "10 July 1988".

The following Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority from the date shown and effect from 10 October 1988:

S. A. Arrell, B.SC., 10 October 1988.

P. O. McLuskie, B.SC., 10 October 1987.

M. Pitt, B.SC., 10 October 1988.

G. B. I. Scott, B.SC., 10 October 1987.

R. V. Jackson, B.SC., 10 October 1988.

Pilot Officer M. J. Neilson, DIP.PHYS.ED., to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 9 September 1988.

Extensions of Commission

The commissions of the following Squadron Leaders are extended until the date shown:

G. C. Alexander, 13 July 2000.

I. C. Gore, N.Z.C.E., 6 January 1998.

G. J. Howse, 22 September 2002.

J. K. Duxfield, B.SC., 6 September 2000.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Flight Lieutenant C. S. Carter are extended until 25 September 1994.

Transfers to Reserve

Wing Commander Allan Thomas King is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 4 October 1990, with effect from 5 October 1988.

Flight Lieutenant Mark Andrew Owens, B.SC., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 21 August 1992, with effect from 22 August 1988.

Retirement

Squadron Leader Duncan Raymond Middlemass is retired with effect from 1 October 1988.

Engineer Branch

Appointment

Temporary Corporal Murray Ian Dobson is appointed to a commission in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 27 November 1987 and effect from 30 September 1988.

Promotions

Temporary Squadron Leader A. G. Harmsworth to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 27 September 1988.

Flying Officer G. W. Harris to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 9 September 1988.

Extensions of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commissions and age for retirement of the following Squadron Leaders are extended until the date shown:

D. I. Lamason, 1 December 1990.

G. F. Smart, 17 June 1993.

C. B. Britnell, N.Z.C.E., 30 July 1993.

R. G. McKay, 27 January 1992.

Administrative and Supply Branch

Promotions

Special Duties Division

The following to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from the date shown:

1