Maori Affairs

Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975

Presiding Officer of the Waitangi Tribunal Appointed

Pursuant to section 5 of the Second Schedule of the Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975 as amended by section 7 of the Treaty of Waitangi Amendment Act 1988, the Deputy Chairman of the Waitangi Tribunal has been pleased to appoint

Andrew Duncan Spencer, Judge of the Maori Land Court to be presiding officer of the Waitangi Tribunal to hear a claim brought by Alex Nathan and others on behalf of the Te Roroa subtribe and others.

Dated at Wellington this 26th day of April 1989.

J. E. PAKI, Director, Treaty Issues Directorate, Department of Maori Affairs.

(M.A. H.O. 19/14/1/2) go6692

3CL

Members for a Sitting of the Waitangi Tribunal Appointed

Pursuant to section 5 of the Second Schedule to the Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975 as amended by section 7 of the Treaty of Waitangi Amendment Act 1988, the Deputy Chairman of the Waitangi Tribunal is pleased to advise that the following members of the Waitangi Tribunal have been appointed to hear the claim brought by John Hanita Paki on behalf of the beneficial owners of the Titiraupenga and Pouakani B9B Trusts.

Turirangi Te Kani,

Emarina Manuel,

William McLeod Wilson, and

Evelyn Mary Stokes.

Dated at Wellington this 26th day of April 1989.

J. E. PAKI, Director, Treaty Issues Directorate, Department of Maori Affairs.

6/3CL go6693

Members for a Sitting of the Waitangi Tribunal Appointed

Pursuant to section 5 of the Second Schedule to the Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975 as amended by section 7 of the Treaty of Waitangi Amendment Act 1988, the Deputy Chairman of the Waitangi Tribunal is pleased to advise that the following members of the Waitangi Tribunal have been appointed to hear the claim brought by Alex Nathan and others on behalf of the Te Roroa subtribe and others.

Turirangi Te Kani,

Mary Boyd,

Ngapare Kaihina Hopa,

Erihana Rupene Ryan, and

John Thomas Kneebone.

Dated at Wellington this 26th day of April 1989.

J. E. PAKI, Director, Treaty Issues Directorate, Department of Maori Affairs.

6/3CL

906697

Presiding Officer of the Waitangi Tribunal Appointed

Pursuant to section 5 of the Second Schedule of the Treaty of Waitangi Act 1975 as amended by section 7 of the Treaty of Waitangi Amendment Act 1988, the Deputy Chairman of the Waitangi Tribunal has been pleased to appoint

Ross Maitland Russell, Judge of the Maori Land Court

to be presiding officer of the Waitangi Tribunal to hear a claim brought by John Hanita Paki on behalf of the beneficial owners of the Titiraupenga Trust and the Pouakani B9B Trust.

Dated at Wellington this 26th day of April 1989.

J. E. PAKI, Director, Treaty Issues Directorate, Department of Maori Affairs.

(M.A. H.O. 19/14/1/2)

30

Appoint Former Deputy Members of the Waitangi Tribunal as Full Tribunal Members

Pursuant to section 2 of the Treaty of Waitangi Amendment Act 1988, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint the former deputy members of the Waitangi Tribunal named hereunder as full members of the Waitangi Tribunal, the expiry date for their terms of office to remain as they currently are.

Emarina Manuel, M.B.E.,

Turirangi Te Kani, M.B.E.,

Maurice Peter Keith Sorrenson, and

William McLeod Wilson.

Dated at Wellington this 30th day of March 1989.

K. T. WETERE, Minister of Maori Affairs.

(M.A. H.O. 19/14/1/2) go6700

6/3C

Appointment of Members of the Waitangi Tribunal

Pursuant to section 2 of the Treaty of Waitangi Amendment Act 1988, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint the persons named hereunder as members of the Waitangi Tribunal for a term of office expiring on 1 April 1992.

Ngapare Kaihina Hopa,

Joanne Robin Morris,

Erihana Rupene Ryan,

Evelyn Mary Stokes,

John Thomas Kneebone, and

Peter John Trapski.

Dated at Wellington this 30th day of March 1989.

K. T. WETERE, Minister of Maori Affairs.

(M.A. H.O. 19/14/1/2) go6702

6/3CL

Social Welfare

Department of Social Welfare Act 1971

Instrument of Direction (Under Section 5 of the Department of Social Welfare Act 1971)

To: The Director-General of Social Welfare.

Independent Inquiry and Review into Department's Actions Relating to Sexual Abuse Cases

Preamble: I have engaged Kenneth Hector Mason, retired District Court Judge, to conduct an independent inquiry and review into the following matters on the following terms of reference:

A. Subject to compliance with the rules of natural justice, and obligations of confidentiality, to inquire into and review the case of Heather Dawn Anderson and to—