54 NORTH SHORE CITY COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The North Shore City Council", is hereby constituted for the North Shore City.

55 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The East Coast Bays City Council; and
- (b) The Takapuna City Council; and
- (c) The Birkenhead City Council; and
- (d) The Northcote Borough Council; and
- (e) The Devonport Borough Council; and
- (f) The North Shore Drainage Board; and
- (g) The North Shore Scenic Board; and
- (h) Subject to Part X of this order, the Auckland Harbour Board.

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

56 WARDS

- (1) The North Shore City is hereby divided into 5 wards.
- (2) These 5 wards are:
- (a) The East Coast Bays Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63519 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (b) The Glenfield Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63521 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (c) The Takapuna Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63520 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (d) The Onewa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63518 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (e) The Devonport Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63522 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District.

57 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The North Shore City Council shall consist of a Mayor and 18 members.
- (2) The members of the North Shore City Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the East Coast Bays Ward; and
- (b) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Glenfield Ward; and
- (c) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Takapuna Ward; and
- (d) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Onewa Ward; and
- (e) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Devonport Ward.

58 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the North Shore City Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the North Shore City shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Takapuna City.
- (2) The first election of the North Shore City Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

59 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the North Shore City Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council: and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989

60 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

- (1) The Chief Executive of the North Shore City Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 74 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the North Shore City Council.

61 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the North Shore City Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
 - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
 - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the North Shore City Council or any of the former authorities; and
 - (iii) Any local Act relating to the North Shore City Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of a harbour board in respect of the provision and maintenance of those marinas, wharves, jetties, boat ramps and other harbour facilities formerly the responsibility of the Auckland Harbour Board and transferred to it by Part X of this order; and
- (c) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause; and
- (d) The functions, duties, and powers of the North Shore Drainage Board under the North Shore Drainage Act 1963, with respect to the area of the North Shore City.

62 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the North Shore City Council shall be located in Takapuna.

63 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

The North Shore City Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery centre, in:

- (a) Browns Bay; and
- (b) Glenfield; and
- (c) Birkenhead; and
- (d) Devonport,

in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

64 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
- (a) The area of the East Coast Bays Ward, to be known as "The East Coast Bays Community"; and
- (b) The area of the the Glenfield Ward, to be known as "The Glenfield Community"; and
- (c) The area of the Takapuna Ward, to be known as "The Takapuna Community"; and
- (d) The area of the Onewa Ward, to be known as "The Onewa Community"; and
- (e) The area of the Devonport Ward, to be known as "The Devonport Community".
- (2) The community board for each community constituted by subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of:
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and