(2) Every district named in Part I of the First Schedule to this order is hereby abolished.

7 REFERENCES TO FORMER AUTHORITY

- (1) Every reference in this order to a former authority shall, where part only of the district of a former authority has been included within the district of a local authority or any function of a former authority has been allocated to a local authority, be read as a reference to the former authority only in relation to that part or, as the case may be, that function.
- (2) Any reference in Part X of this order to "the former authorities" or "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities defined in Parts II to IX of this order.

8 DISSOLUTION OF EXISTING DISTRICT COMMUNITY COUNCILS AND COMMUNITY COUNCILS AND ABOLITION OF EXISTING COMMUNITIES

- (1) Every district community council and community council named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby dissolved.
- (2) Every community named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby abolished.

PART II

Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council

9 MANAWATU-WANGANUI REGIONAL COUNCIL

A regional council, to be known as "The Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council", is hereby constituted for the Manawatu-Wanganui Region.

10 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Manawatu United Council; and
- (b) The Wanganui United Council; and
- (c) The Horowhenua United Council; and
- (d) The Wairarapa United Council; and
- (e) The Tongariro United Council; and
- (f) The Manawatu Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (g) The Rangitikei-Wanganui Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (h) The Wairarapa Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
 - (i) The Taumarunui District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (j) The Waimarino District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (k) The Wanganui District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (I) The Kiwitea-Pohangina District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (m) The Oroua District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (n) The Palmerston North District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (o) The Manawatu District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (p) The Horowhenua District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (q) The Dannevirke-Woodville District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (r) The Pahiatua District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (s) The Eketahuna District Noxious Plants Authority, and
 - (t) The Rangitikei District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (u) The South-west North Island Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (v) The Central North Island Pest Destruction Board; and
- (w) The South-east Coast North Island Pest Destruction Board; and

- (x) The Moutoa Drainage Board; and
- (y) The Makerua Drainage Board; and
- (z) The Manawatu Drainage Board; and
- (aa) The Oroua Drainage Board; and
- (ab) The Sluggish River Drainage Board; and
- (ac) The Waitomo District Pest Destruction Board; and
- (ad) The Waitomo District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (ae) The Taupo District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (af) The Waikato Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
 - (ag) The Stratford District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (ah) The Stratford District Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (ai) The Taranaki United Council; and
 - (aj) The Hawke's Bay United Council; and
 - (ak) The Hawke's Bay Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (al) The Waipawa District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (am) The Waipukurau District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (an) The Waikato United Council,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

11 CONSTITUENCIES

- The Manawatu-Wanganui Region is hereby divided into 7 constituencies.
- (2) Those 7 constituencies are:
- (a) The Tararua Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36011 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (b) The Horowhenua Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36012 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (c) The Palmerston North Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36013 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (d) The Manawatu Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36014 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (e) The Rangitikei Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36015 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (f) The Wanganui Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36016 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (g) The Ruapehu Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36017 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

12 MEMBERSHIP

The Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council shall consist of 16 members, of whom:

- (a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Tararua Constituency; and
- (b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Horowhenua Constituency; and
- (c) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Palmerston North Constituency; and
- (d) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Manawatu Constituency; and
- (e) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Rangitikei Constituency; and
- (f) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Wanganui Constituency; and