(g) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Ruapehu Constituency.

# **13 FIRST ELECTION**

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council:

(a) The Returning Officer for the Tararua Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Dannevirke District; and

(b) The Returning Officer for the Horowhenua Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Levin Borough; and

(c) The Returning Officer for the Palmerston North Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Palmerston North City; and

(d) The Returning Officer for the Manawatu Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Manawatu District; and

(e) The Returning Officer for the Rangitikei Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Rangitikei County; and

(f) The Returning Officer for the Wanganui Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Wanganui City; and

(g) The Returning Officer for the Ruapehu Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Taumarunui County.

(2) The first election of the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

## **14 FIRST MEETING**

(1) The principal administrative officer of the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council:

(a) Shall convene the first meeting of that Council; and

(b) Shall preside at the first meeting of that Council until the election of the Chairperson of that Council.

(2) The first meeting of the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council shall be convened no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

## **15 CHIEF EXECUTIVE**

(1) The Chief Executive for the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 31 of this order.

(2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council.

### **16 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS**

(1) The functions, duties, and powers of the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council shall be:

(a) Except as otherwise provided by this order, the functions, duties, and powers of a regional council under—

(i) The Local Government Act 1974; and

(ii) The Urban Transport Act 1980; and

- (iii) Any public Act relating to the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council or any of the former authorities and not expressly referred to in this clause; and
- (iv) Any local Act relating to the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council or any of the former authorities; and

(b) The functions, duties, and powers in relation to regional planning of a regional council under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 or any other Act; and

(c) The functions, duties, and powers in relation to maritime planning of a maritime planning authority under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 or any other Act; and

(d) The functions, duties, and powers of a catchment board and a regional water board under the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act 1941 and the Water and Soil Conservation Act 1967 or any other Act; and

(e) The functions, duties, and powers in relation to civil defence of a regional council under the Civil Defence Act 1983 or any other Act; and

(f) The functions, duties, and powers of a pest destruction

board under the Agricultural Pests Destruction Act 1967 or any other Act; and

(g) The functions, duties, and powers of a district noxious plants authority under the Noxious Plants Act 1978 or any other Act; and

(h) In respect of those drainage areas named in clause 17 of this order, the functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under Part XXIX of the Local Government Act 1974.

(2) For the purposes of subclause (1)(h) of this clause, any reference in Part XXIX of the Local Government Act 1974 to:

"Council" shall be deemed to include the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council:

"District" shall be deemed to include the Manawatu-Wanganui Region.

### **17 DRAINAGE AREAS**

The areas of the former drainage districts named in paragraphs (a) to (e) of this clause shall be deemed to be drainage areas constituted under section 504 of the Local Government Act 1974:

(a) The Moutoa Drainage District; and

(b) The Makerua Drainage District; and

- (c) The Manawatu Drainage District; and
- (d) The Oroua Drainage District; and
- (e) The Sluggish River Drainage District.

### **18 RURAL SERVICES COMMITTEE**

(1) The Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a Rural Services Committee.

(2) The Rural Services Committee shall be responsible for:

(a) Agricultural pests destruction; and

(b) Noxious plants control; and

(c) Any other functions considered by the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council to be of particular concern to the rural community.

(3) The persons appointed by the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council to the Rural Services Committee established under this clause shall include not less than two persons:

(a) Who are not members of that Council; but

(b) Who, in the opinion of the Council, have knowledge which will assist the work of the Committee.

## **19 JOINT COMMITTEES**

(1) The Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, unite with:

First, the Taranaki Regional Council, the Hawke's Bay Regional Council, the Waikato Regional Council, and the Bay of Plenty Regional Council; and

Secondly, the Wellington Regional Council,

in appointing joint committees.

(2) Each joint committee shall comprise an equal number of representatives from the Councils comprising the respective joint committees, appointed by the appropriate Councils named in subclause (1) of this clause.

(3) The functions of those joint committees shall be:

(a) Co-ordinating planning for the control of the agricultural pests and noxious plants of particular concern in relation to their regions; and

(b) Co-ordinating action on such other matters as those councils are jointly interested in.

### **20 REGIONAL LAND TRANSPORT COMMITTEE**

(1) The Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council shall establish and maintain a Regional Land Transport Committee.