- (2) The Regional Land Transport Committee shall be responsible for:
- (a) Regional roading, under Part XXII of the Local Government Act 1974; and
- (b) Such transport or other roading responsibilities as may, from time to time, pursuant to any Act, become a function of a regional council; and
- (c) Such other functions as the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council considers appropriate.

21 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council shall be located in Palmerston North.

22 RATING

- (1) Without limiting the powers of the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council under the Rating Powers Act 1988 to make and levy any rate under a different system of rating, the system of rating in the Manawatu-Wanganui Region shall be the capital value system.
- (2) The Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council may exercise within the Manawatu-Wanganui Region or any part thereof:
- (a) Any rating powers possessed by any former authority; and
- (b) Any powers to make and levy assessments relating to the functions and powers possessed by any former authority.
- (3) Subject to subclause (7) of this clause, and until at least the 30th day of June 1992, all rates made by the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council shall be levied and collected by the constituent authorities of the Manawatu-Wanganui Region as if an agreement had been made under section 127(1) of the Rating Powers Act 1988.
- (4) Where a rate to which subclause (3) of this clause applies has been made on a different rating system to that which applies in the district of the constituent authority by which the rate is to be collected, that rate shall be levied and collected by the constituent authority:
- (a) On the system of rating in force in the district of the constituent authority; or
- (b) On the system of rating upon which the rate was made by the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council.
- (5) Where any rate to which subclause (3) of this clause applies is made by the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council in respect of an area of benefit, it shall be levied and collected by the constituent authority or authorities within which that area of benefit is located and, where appropriate, according to any graduated scale applying to that rate.
- (6) Subject to subclause (7) of this clause, the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council shall, for the purpose of:
- (a) Reimbursing each constituent authority for costs incurred in the levying and collecting of rates (including goods and services tax); and
- (b) Paying reasonable remuneration for clerical and other work,
- pay to each constituent authority an amount equal to 2 percent of the total amount of the rates, including goods and services tax, collected by that constituent authority on behalf of that Council.
- (7) The Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council and the constituent authorities may, by unanimous agreement, resolve:
- (a) That, at any time after the 1st day of July 1990, that Council shall levy and collect all or any rates directly; or
- (b) That, at any time after the 1st day of July 1990, the amount payable by that Council to each constituent authority, pursuant to subclause (6) of this clause, may be increased or decreased or calculated in accordance with a formula not based upon a percentage.

23 REGIONAL PLANNING

- (1) The Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council shall not be required to prepare a new regional planning scheme immediately.
- (2) The approved regional planning schemes and the proposed regional planning schemes under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 of the former authorities shall be deemed to be the approved, or as the case may be the proposed, regional planning scheme of the Manawatu-Wanganui Region.
- (3) Where any former authority had, prior to its dissolution, begun the preparation of any review of its regional planning scheme or of any change or variation thereof, then subject to any resolution of the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council to the contrary, all such preparation shall be deemed to have been done by, or on behalf of, the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council, and may be adopted and acted upon by it.

24 CIVIL DEFENCE

The operative regional civil defence plans of the Horowhenua Region, the Wairarapa Region, the Hawke's Bay Region, the Manawatu Region, the Wanganui Region, and the Tongariro Region shall continue in force in those areas included in the Manawatu-Wanganui Region until a new plan is approved for the whole region, in accordance with the Civil Defence Act 1983.

25 VESTING OF PROPERTY

- (1) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority and situated in the Manawatu-Wanganui Region is hereby vested in the corporation of the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.
- (2) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority, other than those former authorities named in paragraphs (d), (e), (h), (v), (w), (ac), (ad), (ae), (af), (ag), (ah), (ai), (aj), (ak), (al), (am), and (an) of clause 10 of this order, and situated in a region in which that former authority is not also a former authority is hereby vested in the corporation of the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

26 TITLE TO PROPERTY

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council by clause 25 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Manawatu-Wanganui Regional Council".

27 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Manawatu-Wanganui Region.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
 - (a) The Manawatu United Council; and
 - (b) The Wanganui United Council; and
 - (c) The Horowhenua United Council; and
 - (d) The Tongariro United Council; and
- (e) The Manawatu Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (f) The Rangitikei-Wanganui Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
- (g) The Wairarapa Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
 - (h) The Taumarunui District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (i) The Waimarino District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (j) The Wanganui District Noxious Plants Authority; and