- (b) The Woodville District Council; and
- (c) The Pahiatua Borough Council; and
- (d) The Pahiatua County Council: and
- (e) The Eketahuna County Council; and
- (f) The Ngaturi Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (g) The Mangatainoka Recreation Reserve Board: and
- (h) The Tutaekara Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (i) The Kaitawa Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (j) The Makuri Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (k) The Marima Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (I) The Carnival Park Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (m) The Rakaunui Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (n) The Mangamutu Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (o) The Kohinui Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (p) The Newman Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (q) The Hukanui Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (r) The Kumeroa Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (s) The Woodville Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (t) The Victoria Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (u) The Waipukurau District Council; and
- (v) The Waipawa District Council,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to one of the former authorities in this clause.

38 WARDS

- The Tararua District is hereby divided into 6 wards.
- (2) Those 6 wards are:
- (a) The Dannevirke Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No 36019 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (b) The Norsewood Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No 36020 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (c) The Akitio Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No 36021 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (d) The Woodville Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No 36022 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (e) The Pahiatua Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No 36023 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (f) The Eketahuna Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No 36024 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

39 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Tararua District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 12 members.
- (2) The members of the Tararua District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Dannevirke Ward; and
- (b) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Norsewood Ward; and
- (c) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Akitio Ward; and
- (d) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Woodville Ward; and
- (e) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Pahiatua Ward; and
- (f) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Eketahuna Ward.

40 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Tararua District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Tararua District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Dannevirke District.
- (2) The first election of the Tararua District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

41 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Tararua District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

42 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Tararua District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 56 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Tararua District Council.

43 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Tararua District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
 - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
 - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Tararua District Council or any of the former authorities; and
 - (iii) Any local Act relating to the Tararua District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the date of commencement of this clause.

44 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the Tararua District Council shall be located in Dannevirke.

45 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

- (1) The Tararua District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery centre, in:
 - (a) Woodville; and
 - (b) Pahiatua; and
 - (c) Eketahuna,

in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

(2) In addition the Tararua District Council shall retain a workshop and depot in Eketahuna at least, until the 1st day of November 1995.

46 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for the area of the Dannevirke Ward, the Norsewood Ward and the Akitio Ward, to be known as "The Dannevirke Community".
- (2) The community board for the Dannevirke Community constituted by subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of:
- (a) Four members elected by the electors of the Dannevirke Ward; and
- (b) One member elected by the electors of the Norsewood Ward; and
- (c) One member elected by the electors of the Akitio Ward; and
 - (d) Four persons elected from time to time as members of