the Tararua District Council, representing the Dannevirke Ward, the Norsewood Ward, and the Akitio Ward, and appointed by the Tararua District Council to the Dannevirke Community Board, as follows:

- (i) Two members elected by the electors of the Dannevirke Ward; and
- (ii) One member elected by the electors of the Norsewood Ward; and
- (iii) One member elected by the electors of the Akitio Ward.
- (3) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
- (a) The area of the Woodville Ward, to be known as "The Woodville Community"; and
- (b) The area of the Pahiatua Ward, to be known as "The Pahiatua Community"; and
- (c) The area of the Eketahuna Ward, to be known as "The Eketahuna Community".
- (4) The community board for each community constituted by subclause (3) of this clause shall consist of:
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and
- (b) The persons elected from time to time as members of the Tararua District Council, representing the ward comprising the area of the community, and appointed by the Tararua District Council to the community board.
- (5) The Returning Officer for the first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be the Returning Officer for the Dannevirke District.
- (6) The first election for the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be conducted by postal vote.

47 RATING

- (1) The system of rating in the Tararua District shall be the land value system.
- (2) Until the Valuer-General is able to produce a valuation roll for the Tararua District, Part XIV of the Rating Powers Act 1988 shall apply as if the Tararua District was the district of a special purpose authority and the areas from which it was formed were constituent districts.

48 TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING

- (1) The Tararua District Council shall not be required to prepare a new district scheme, immediately, for the Tararua District.
- (2) The operative district schemes and the proposed district schemes under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 of the former authorities shall be deemed to be the operative district scheme or, as the case may be, the proposed district scheme, of the Tararua District.
- (3) Where any former authority had, prior to its dissolution, begun the preparation of any review of its district scheme or of any change or variation thereof, then, subject to any resolution of the Tararua District Council to the contrary, all such preparation shall be deemed to have been done by, or on behalf of, the Tararua District Council and may be adopted and acted upon by it.
- (4) Where before the coming into force of this clause any application had been made to any former authority by any person pursuant to any provision of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and:
- (a) No hearing by that former authority or any committee thereof had begun of such application or any objection thereto, the application shall be deemed to have been made to the Tararua District Council and shall be dealt with by it accordingly; or
 - (b) Such application had been heard or otherwise disposed

of by that former authority and either the time for any appeal against such decision had not expired or notice of appeal had been given, any such appeal shall be deemed to be against the Tararua District Council: or

(c) Such application had been either partly or fully heard or considered by that former authority but no decision thereon had been given, the application shall be heard or considered again by the Tararua District Council or, as the case may require, a committee or delegate thereof.

49 CIVIL DEFENCE

The operative local civil defence plans for the districts of the former authorities shall continue in force in the respective parts of the Tararua District until a new plan is approved for the Tararua District, in accordance with the Civil Defence Act 1983

50 VESTING OF PROPERTY

- (1) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority, and situated in the Tararua District, is hereby vested in the corporation of the Tararua District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.
- (2) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority, other than the Waipukarau District Council and the Waipawa District Council, and situated in a district in which that former authority is not also a former authority, is hereby vested in the corporation of the Tararua District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

51 TITLE TO PROPERTY

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Tararua District Council by clause 50 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Tararua District Council".

52 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Tararua District.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
 - (a) The Dannevirke District Council; and
 - (b) The Woodville District Council; and
 - (c) The Pahiatua Borough Council; and
 - (d) The Pahiatua County Council; and
 - (e) The Eketahuna County Council.

53 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee for the Tararua District shall consist of:

- (a) Two members appointed by the Dannevirke District Council; and
- (b) One member appointed by the Woodville District Council; and
- (c) One member appointed by the Pahiatua Borough Council; and
- (d) One member appointed by the Pahiatua County Council; and
- (e) One member appointed by the Eketahuna County Council; and
- (f) One member appointed by the Local Government Commission; and
- (g) One officer to be appointed by each local authority, named in clause 52(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and
 - (h) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in