accordance with clause 56 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and

(i) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 52(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

## **54 NO CASTING VOTE**

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Tararua District or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

#### 55 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Tararua District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

# 56 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Tararua District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Tararua District Council.

# **57 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY**

The principal local authority of the transitional committee for the Tararua District shall be the Dannevirke District Council.

#### 58 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the Tararua District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 52(2) of this order either:

- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Tararua District,
- as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Tararua District.

# 59 CONSULTATION WITH ADMINISTERING AUTHORITIES OF RESERVES

- (1) The transitional committee for the Tararua District shall consult with each administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 for each reserve whose functions, duties, and powers are, by this order, allocated to the Tararua District Council.
- (2) The consultation shall be for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for each reserve being administered by those administering authorities.
- (3) Where, following the consultation, the transitional committee for the Tararua District considers it desirable that any committee or committees of management be established, the committee shall recommend to the Tararua District Council that it establish the committee or committees of management.

### PART IV

Horowhenua District

# 60 CONSTITUTION OF HOROWHENUA DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Horowhenua District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36025 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

# 61 HOROWHENUA DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Horowhenua District Council", is hereby constituted for the Horowhenua District.

# **62 INTERPRETATION**

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Levin Borough Council; and
- (b) The Foxton Borough Council; and
- (c) The Horowhenua County Council: and
- (d) The Manawatu District Council.

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

#### 63 WARDS

- (1) The Horowhenua District is hereby divided into 3 wards.
- (2) Those 3 wards are:
- (a) The Kere Kere Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36026 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (b) The Waiopehu Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36027 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (c) The Ohau Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36028 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

### **64 MEMBERSHIP**

- (1) The Horowhenua District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 12 members.
- (2) The members of the Horowhenua District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Kere Kere Ward; and
- (b) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Waiopehu Ward; and
- (c) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Ohau Ward.

#### 65 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Horowhenua District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Horowhenua District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Levin Borough.
- (2) The first election of the Horowhenua District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

## **66 FIRST MEETING**

The first meeting of the Horowhenua District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

# **67 CHIEF EXECUTIVE**

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Horowhenua District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 81 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Horowhenua District Council.