## 68 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Horowhenua District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under---
  - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
  - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Horowhenua District Council or any of the former authorities; and
  - (iii) Any local Act relating to the Horowhenua District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

## 69 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the Horowhenua District Council shall be located in Levin.

## **70 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES**

The Horowhenua District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery centre, in:

- (a) Foxton, in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order; and
- (b) Shannon, providing services to be determined by the Horowhenua District Council.

#### 71 FOXTON COMMUNITY

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community, to be known as "The Foxton Community", comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36061 deposited with the Chief
- Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

  (2) The community board for the Foxton Community shall
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and  ${\bf r}$
- (b) The persons elected from time to time as members of the Horowhenua District Council, representing the ward including the area of that community, and appointed by the Horowhenua District Council to the community board.
- (3) The Returning Officer for the first election of the community board for the community constituted by this clause shall be the Returning Officer for the Levin Borough.
- (4) The first election of the community board for the community constituted by this clause shall be conducted by postal vote.

## **72 RATING**

consist of:

- (1) The system of rating in the Horowhenua District shall be the land value system.
- (2) Until the Valuer-General is able to produce a valuation roll for the Horowhenua District, Part XIV of the Rating Powers Act 1988 shall apply as if the Horowhenua District was the district of a special purpose authority and the areas from which it was formed were constituent districts.

### 73 TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING

- (1) The Horowhenua District Council shall not be required to prepare a new district scheme, immediately, for the Horowhenua District.
- (2) The operative district schemes and the proposed district schemes under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 of the former authorities shall be deemed to be the operative district scheme or, as the case may be, the proposed district scheme, of the Horowhenua District.
- (3) Where any former authority had, prior to its dissolution, begun the preparation of any review of its district scheme or of

- any change or variation thereof, then, subject to any resolution of the Horowhenua District Council to the contrary, all such preparation shall be deemed to have been done by, or on behalf of, the Horowhenua District Council and may be adopted and acted upon by it.
- (4) Where before the coming into force of this clause any application had been made to any former authority by any person pursuant to any provision of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and:
- (a) No hearing by that former authority or any committee thereof had begun of such application or any objection thereto, the application shall be deemed to have been made to the Horowhenua District Council and shall be dealt with by it accordingly; or
- (b) Such application had been heard or otherwise disposed of by that former authority and either the time for any appeal against such decision had not expired or notice of appeal had been given, any such appeal shall be deemed to be against the Horowhenua District Council; or
- (c) Such application had been either partly or fully heard or considered by that former authority but no decision thereon had been given, the application shall be heard or considered again by the Horowhenua District Council or, as the case may require, a committee or delegate thereof.

#### 74 CIVIL DEFENCE

The operative local civil defence plans for the districts of the former authorities shall continue in force in the respective parts of the Horowhenua District until a new plan is approved for the Horowhenua District, in accordance with the Civil Defence Act 1983.

#### **75 VESTING OF PROPERTY**

- (1) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority and situated in the Horowhenua District is hereby vested in the corporation of the Horowhenua District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.
- (2) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority and situated in a district in which that former authority is not also a former authority, is hereby vested in the corporation of the Horowhenua District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

## **76 TITLE TO PROPERTY**

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Horowhenua District Council by clause 75 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Horowhenua District Council".

#### 77 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Horowhenua District.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
  - (a) The Levin Borough Council; and
  - (b) The Horowhenua County Council; and
  - (c) The Foxton Borough Council; and
  - (d) The Manawatu District Council.

# 78 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee for the Horowhenua District shall consist of:

- (a) Two members appointed by the Levin Borough Council; and
- (b) Two members appointed by the Horowhenua County Council; and