(c) One member appointed by the Manawatu District Council; and

(d) One member appointed by the Foxton Borough Council; and

(e) One officer appointed by each local authority, named in clause 77(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and

(f) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 81 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and

(g) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 77(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

79 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Horowhenua District or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

80 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Horowhenua District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

81 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Horowhenua District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Horowhenua District Council.

82 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Horowhenua District shall be the Horowhenua County Council.

83 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the Horowhenua District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 77(2) of this order either:

(a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or

(b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

(i) The district of that local authority; or

- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Horowhenua District,
- as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Horowhenua District.

PART V

Palmerston North City

84 CONSTITUTION OF PALMERSTON NORTH CITY

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Palmerston North City", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36029 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

85 PALMERSTON NORTH CITY COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Palmerston North

City Council", is hereby constituted for the Palmerston North City.

86 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

- "The former authorities" means—
- (a) The former Palmerston North City Council; and
- (b) The Manawatu District Council; and
- (c) The Oroua County Council,
- and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:
- "Former Palmerston North City" means the Palmerston North City in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Former Palmerston North City Council" means the Palmerston North City Council in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Palmerston North City" means the Palmerston North City constituted by this order:
- "Palmerston North City Council" means the Palmerston North City Council constituted by this order.

87 WARDS

(1) The Palmerston North City is hereby divided into 6 wards.

(2) Those 6 wards are:

(a) The Papaioea Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36030 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:

(b) The Hokowhitu Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36031 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:

(c) The Awapuni Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36032 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:

(d) The Takaro Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36033 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:

(e) The Fitzherbert Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36034 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:

(f) The Ashhurst Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36035 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

88 MEMBERSHIP

(1) The Palmerston North City Council shall consist of a Mayor and 15 members.

(2) The members of the Palmerston North City Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:

(a) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Papaioea Ward; and

(b) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Hokowhitu Ward; and

(c) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Awapuni Ward; and

(d) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Takaro Ward; and

(e) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Fitzherbert Ward; and

(f) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Ashhurst Ward.

89 FIRST ELECTION

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Palmerston North City Council, the Returning Officer and the principal