shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Palmerston North City.

(2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:

- (a) The former Palmerston North City Council; and
- (b) The Manawatu District Council; and

(c) The Oroua County Council.

102 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee for the Palmerston North City Council shall consist of:

(a) Three members appointed by the former Palmerston North City Council; and

(b) One member appointed by the Manawatu District Council; and

(c) One member appointed by the Oroua District Council; and

(d) One officer appointed by each local authority, named in clause 101(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and

(e) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 105 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and

(f) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 101(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

103 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Palmerston North City or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

104 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Palmerston North City may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

105 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Palmerston North City shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Palmerston North City Council.

106 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Palmerston North City shall be the former Palmerston North City Council.

107 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the Palmerston North City (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 101(2) of this order either:

(a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or

(b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula— $\!\!\!\!$

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

(i) The district of that local authority; or

- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Palmerston North City,
- as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local

authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Palmerston North City.

PART VI

Manawatu District

108 CONSTITUTION OF MANAWATU DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Manawatu District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36036 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

109 MANAWATU DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Manawatu District Council", is hereby constituted for the Manawatu District.

110 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

- "The former authorities" means—
- (a) The former Manawatu District Council; and
- (b) The Feilding Borough Council; and
- (c) The Oroua County Council; and
- (d) The Pohangina County Council; and
- (e) The Kiwitea County Council,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:

- "Former Manawatu District" means the Manawatu District in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Former Manawatu District Council" means the Manawatu District Council in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Manawatu District" means the Manawatu District constituted by this order:
- "Manawatu District Council" means the Manawatu District Council constituted by this order.

111 WARDS

(1) The Manawatu District is hereby divided into 5 wards.

(2) These 5 wards are:

(a) The Pohangina Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36037 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:

(b) The Kiwitea Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36038 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:

(c) The Feilding Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36039 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:

(d) The Oroua Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36040 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:

(e) The Kairanga Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36041 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

112 MEMBERSHIP

(1) The Manawatu District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 13 members.

(2) The members of the Manawatu District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:

(a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Pohangina Ward; and

(b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Kiwitea Ward; and