(e) The Kiwitea County Council.

125 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee for the Manawatu District shall consist of:

- (a) Two members appointed by the former Manawatu District Council; and
- (b) Two members appointed by the Feilding Borough Council; and
- (c) Two members appointed by the Oroua County Council; and
- (d) Two members appointed by the Kiwitea County Council; and
- (e) Two members appointed by the Pohangina County Council; and
- (f) One officer appointed by each local authority, named in clause 124(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and
- (g) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 128 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (h) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 124(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

126 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Manawatu District or other person presiding at any meeting of the committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

127 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Manawatu District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

128 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Manawatu District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Manawatu District Council.

129 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Manawatu District shall be the Feilding Borough Council.

130 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the Manawatu District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 124(2) of this order either:

- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Manawatu District,

as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Manawatu District.

PART VII

Rangitikei District

131 CONSTITUTION OF RANGITIKEI DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Rangitikei District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36042 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

132 RANGITIKEI DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Rangitikei District Council", is hereby constituted for the Rangitikei District.

133 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Rangitikei County Council; and
- (b) The Marton Borough Council; and
- (c) The Taihape Borough Council; and
- (d) The Kiwitea County Council; and
- (e) The Turakina Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (f) The Putai Ngahere Reserve Board; and
- (g) The Taupo District Council,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

134 WARDS

- (1) The Rangitikei District is hereby divided into 4 wards.
- (2) Those 4 wards are:
- (a) The Bulls Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36043 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (b) The Marton Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36044 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (c) The Hunterville Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36045 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (d) The Taihape Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36046 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

135 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Rangitikei District Council shall comprise a Mayor and 11 members.
- (2) The members of the Rangitikei District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Bulls Ward; and
- (b) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Marton Ward; and
- (c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Hunterville Ward: and
- (d) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Taihape Ward.

136 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Rangitikei District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Rangitikei District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Rangitikei County.
- (2) The first election of the Rangitikei District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

137 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Rangitikei District Council: