148 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Rangitikei District.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
 - (a) The Rangitikei County Council; and
 - (b) The Marton Borough Council; and
 - (c) The Taihape Borough Council.

149 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee for the Rangitikei District shall consist of:

- (a) Two members appointed by the Rangitikei County Council; and
- (b) One member appointed by the Marton Borough Council; and
- (c) One member appointed by the Taihape Borough Council; and
- (d) One officer appointed by each local authority, named in clause 148(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and
- (e) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 152 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (f) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 148(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

150 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Rangitikei District or other person presiding at any meeting of the committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

151 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Rangitikei District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

152 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Rangitikei District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Rangitikei District Council.

153 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Rangitikei District shall be the Rangitikei County Council.

154 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the Rangitikei District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 148(2) of this order either:

- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Rangitikei District,

as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Rangitikei District.

155 CONSULTATION WITH ADMINISTERING AUTHORITIES OF RESERVES

- (1) The transitional committee for the Rangitikei District shall consult with each administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 for each reserve whose functions, duties, and powers are, by this order, allocated to the Rangitikei District Council.
- (2) The consultation shall be for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for each reserve being administered by those administering authorities.
- (3) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the Rangitikei District considers it desirable that any committee or committees of management be established, the transitional committee shall recommend to the Rangitikei District Council that it establish such a committee or committees of management.

PART VIII

Wanganui District

156 CONSTITUTION OF WANGANUI DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Wanganui District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36047 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

157 WANGANUI DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Wanganui District Council", is hereby constituted for the Wanganui District.

158 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Wanganui City Council; and
- (b) The Wanganui County Council,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

159 WARDS

- (1) The Wanganui District is hereby divided into 6 wards.
- (2) Those 6 wards are:
- (a) The Waitotara Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36048 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (b) The Parapara-Fordell Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36049 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (c) The Westmere Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36050 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (d) The Castlecliff Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36051 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (e) The Central Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36052 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (f) The Matarawa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36053 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

160 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Wanganui District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 14 members.
- (2) The members of the Wanganui District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows: