vested in the corporation of the Wanganui District Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

171 TITLE TO PROPERTY

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Wanganui District Council by clause 170 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Wanganui District Council".

172 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Wanganui District.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
 - (a) The Wanganui City Council; and
 - (b) The Wanganui County Council.

173 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee for the Wanganui District shall consist of:

- (a) Three members appointed by the Wanganui City Council; and
- (b) Two members appointed by the Wanganui County Council; and
- (c) One officer appointed by each local authority, named in clause 172(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and
- (d) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 176 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (e) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 172(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

174 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Wanganui District or other person presiding at any meeting of the committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

175 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Wanganui District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

176 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Wanganui District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Wanganui District Council.

177 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Wanganui District shall be the Wanganui City Council.

178 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the Wanganui District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 172(2) of this order either:

- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population

(as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Wanganui District,

as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Wanganui District.

PART IX

Ruapehu District

179 CONSTITUTION OF RUAPEHU DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Ruapehu District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36054 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

180 RUAPEHU DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Ruapehu District Council", is hereby constituted for the Ruapehu District.

181 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Taumarunui Borough Council; and
- (b) The Taumarunui County Council; and
- (c) The Waimarino District Council; and
- (d) The Rangitikei County Council; and
- (e) The Taupo District Council; and
- (f) The Waitomo District Council; and
- (g) The Stratford District Council,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

182 WARDS

- (1) The Ruapehu District is hereby divided into 5 wards.
- (2) Those 5 wards are:
- (a) The Ohura Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36055 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (b) The Taumarunui Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36056 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (c) The National Park Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36057 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (d) The Waimarino Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36058 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District:
- (e) The Waiouru Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 36059 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Wellington Land District.

183 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Ruapehu District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 14 members.
- (2) The members of the Ruapehu District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Ohura Ward; and
- (b) Five members shall be elected by the electors of the Taumarunui Ward; and
- (c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the National Park Ward; and
- (d) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Waimarino Ward; and