### 205 LOCAL AUTHORITIES PETROLEUM TAX

For the purposes of Part XI of the Local Government Act 1974, the local authorities constituted by this order shall be successors to the former authorities.

#### **206 SPECIAL FUNDS**

- (1) The special funds of the former authorities shall:
- (a) Be expended only for the purposes for which they were set aside; and
- (b) Except for any plant renewal fund, be expended for the benefit of the area in which they originated and, after provision has been made for all liabilities, any money required to be paid into any such fund, to meet any deficit, shall be found from within that area.
- (2) After the 1st day of November 1996, the local authorities constituted by this order:
- (a) Shall review any special fund provided for in subclause (1) of this clause; and
- (b) May resolve that from a date to be determined by the council, such special fund may be applied for such other purpose or purposes as the council considers appropriate.
- (3) Notwithstanding subclause (2) of this clause, the local authorities constituted by this order may at any time before the 1st day of November 1996, with the approval of the Local Government Commission, resolve to vary the use of any special funds.
- (4) All funds held by the administering authorities of reserves under the Reserves Act 1977 shall be deemed to be special funds for the purpose of this clause.

#### 207 LOANS

Any rate made and levied to meet the annual charges in respect of any loan secured over the district of any of the former authorities shall continue to be made and levied on the same basis as applied before the 1st day of November 1989:

Provided that the local authorities constituted by this order may at any time before the 1st day of November 1996 review the basis upon which any such rate is made and levied and may, with the approval of the Local Government Commission, resolve to vary such basis.

## **208 ASSETS AND LIABILITIES**

The provisions of section 60 of the Local Government Amendment Act (No. 2) 1989 shall apply in relation to the apportionment of the assets and liabilities of the former authorities, as defined in Parts II to IX of this order, as if this order did not make provision for the apportionment of those assets and liabilities.

### **209 LOAN LIABILITIES**

Subject to section 37F(2) of the Local Government Act 1974, all loan liabilities existing immediately before the 1st day of November 1989 shall continue to be secured against the area over which they were secured at that date.

### 210 RESIDUAL AUTHORITIES

In the case of a former authority named in the Fourth Schedule to this order, the local authority that shall be responsible for:

- (a) The preparation of the annual financial statement for that former authority for the financial year commencing on the 1st day of April 1989 and for any earlier financial years for which an annual financial statement has not been prepared; and
- (b) The documents (as defined in section 248 of the Local Government Act 1974) and local archives (as so defined) of that former authority, other than those relating to a specified area or function.

shall be that local authority designated in that schedule as a residual authority.

#### 211 CONDUCT OF AFFAIRS

The provisions of section 223C of the Local Government Act 1974 relating to the conduct of affairs of local authorities and community boards applies to the local authorities and community boards constituted by this order.

#### SCHEDULES

#### First Schedule

### PART I

### Local Authorities Dissolved and Districts Abolished

Local Authorities

Manawatu United Council Wanganui United Council Horowhenua United Council Manawatu Catchment Board and Regional Water Board Rangitikei-Wanganui Catchment Board and Regional Water Board Dannevirke District Council Woodville District Council Pahiatua Borough Council Pahiatua County Council Eketahuna County Council Levin Borough Council Foxton Borough Council Horowhenua County Council Palmerston North City

Council
Manawatu District Council
Fielding Borough Council
Oroua County Council
Pohangina County Council
Kiwitea County Council
Rangitikei County Council
Marton Borough Council
Taihape Borough Council
Wanganui City Council
Wanganui County Council
Taumarunui Borough
Council

Waimarino District Council Taumarunui County Council South-west North Island Pest Destruction Board Moutoa Drainage Board Makerua Drainage Board

Manawatu Drainage Board
Oroua Drainage Board
Sluggish River Drainage
Board

Districts

Manawatu Region Wanganui Region Horowhenua Region Manawatu Catchment District Rangitikei-Wanganui Catchment District

Dannevirke District
Woodville District
Pahiatua Borough
Pahiatua County
Eketahuna County
Levin Borough
Foxton Borough
Horowhenua County
Palmerston North City

Manawatu District Fielding Borough Oroua County Pohangina County Kiwitea County Rangitikei County Marton Borough Taihape Borough Wanganui City Wanganui County Taumarunui Borough

Waimarino District
Taumarunui County
South-west North Island
Pest Destruction District
Moutoa Drainage District
Makerua Drainage District
Manawatu Drainage District
Oroua Drainage District
Sluggish River Drainage
District

# PART II

#### Local Authorities Dissolved

Waimarino District Noxious Plants Authority Wanganui District Noxious Plants Authority Kiwitea-Pohangina District Noxious Plants Authority Oroua District Noxious Plants Authority Palmerston North District Noxious Plants Authority Horowhenua District Noxious Plants Authority Manawatu District Noxious Plants Authority Dannevirke-Woodville District Noxious Plants Authority Pahiatua District Noxious Plants Authority Taumarunui District Noxious Plants Authority Rangitikei District Noxious Plants Authority Ngaturi Recreation Reserve Board Mangatainoka Recreation Reserve Board Tutaekara Recreation Reserve Board Kaitawa Recreation Reserve Board Makuri Recreation Reserve Board