75 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the North Shore City shall be the Takapuna City Council.

76 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

(1) The costs of the transitional committee for the North Shore City (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 70(2) of this order either:

(a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or

(b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the gross revenue of the local authority, for the year ended on the 31st day of March 1988, bears to the total of the gross revenue of all the local authorities to which this clause applies, for that year.

(2) For the purpose of this clause the gross revenue of a local authority shall be the gross revenue reasonably related to the area of a local authority which is included in the North Shore City, or any function of a local authority which is transferred to the North Shore City Council, by this order, whichever is applicable.

77 CONSULTATION WITH NORTH SHORE SCENIC BOARD

(1) The transitional committee for the North Shore City shall consult with the North Shore Scenic Board, for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for the North Shore Scenic Reserve.

(2) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the North Shore City considers it desirable that a committee of management be established, the transitional committee shall recommend to the North Shore City Council that it establish such a committee of management.

PART V

WAITAKERE CITY

78 CONSTITUTION OF WAITAKERE CITY

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Waitakere City", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63494 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District.

79 WAITAKERE CITY COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Waitakere City Council", is hereby constituted for the Waitakere City.

80 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Waitemata City Council; and
- (b) The Henderson Borough Council; and
- (c) The Glen Eden Borough Council; and
- (d) The New Lynn Borough Council; and

(e) Subject to Part X of this order, the Auckland Harbour Board.

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

81 WARDS

(1) The Waitakere City is hereby divided into 4 wards.

(2) Those 4 wards are:

(a) The Waitakere Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63528 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:

(b) The Massey Ward, comprising the area delineated on

S.O. Plan No. 63526 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:

(c) The Henderson Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63527 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:

(d) The New Lynn Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63529 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District.

82 MEMBERSHIP

(1) The Waitakere City Council shall consist of a Mayor and 16 members.

(2) The members of the Waitakere City Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:

(a) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Waitakere Ward; and

(b) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Massey Ward; and

(c) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Henderson Ward; and

(d) Five members shall be elected by the electors of the New Lynn Ward.

83 FIRST ELECTION

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Waitakere City Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Waitakere City shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Waitemata City.

(2) The first election of the Waitakere City Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

84 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Waitakere City Council:

(a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and

(b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

85 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

(1) The Chief Executive of the Waitakere City Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 99 of this order.

(2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Waitakere City Council.

86 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Waitakere City Council shall be:

(a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under---

- (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
- (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Waitakere City Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (iii) Any local Act relating to the Waitakere City Council or any of the former authorities; and

(b) The functions, duties, and powers of a harbour board in respect of the provision and maintenance of those marinas, wharves, jetties, boat ramps and other harbour facilities formerly the responsibility of the Auckland Harbour Board and transferred to it by Part X of this order; and

(c) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

87 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

Until the Waitakere City Council otherwise resolves, the administration headquarters of that Council shall be located in