The Local Government (Nelson-Marlborough Region) Reorganisation Order 1989

PAUL REEVES, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 9th day of June 1989

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to section 36 of the Local Government Act 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

Analysis

1 Title and commencement 2 Elections 3 Communities	32 Obligation of transitional committee to appoint chief executive33 Principal local authority
PART I	34 Costs of transitional committee
	35 Delegation of service delivery
Nelson-Marlborough Region	PART III
4 Constitution of Nelson-Marlborough Region	Nelson City
5 Constituent authorities	36 Constitution of Nelson City
6 Dissolution of existing local authorities and abolition of existing districts	37 Nelson City Council
7 References to former authority	38 Interpretation
8 Dissolution of existing community councils and abolition of	39 Wards
existing communities	40 Membership
PART II	41 First election
Nelson-Marlborough Regional Council	42 First meeting
9 Nelson-Marlborough Regional Council	43 Chief executive
10 Interpretation	44 Functions, duties, and powers
11 Constituencies	45 Wakapuaka drainage area
12 Membership	46 Administration headquarters 47 Rating
13 First election	47 Tablig 48 Town and country planning
14 First meeting	49 Civil defence
15 Chief executive	50 Vesting of property
16 Functions, duties, and powers	51 Title to property
17 Rural services committee	PART IV
18 Joint committee	Tasman District
19 Regional land transport committee	52 Constitution of Tasman District
20 Harbour committee	53 Tasman District Council
21 Administration headquarters	54 Interpretation
22 Regional service delivery centre	55 Wards
23 Rating	56 Membership
24 Regional planning	57 First election
25 Civil defence	58 First meeting
26 Vesting of property	59 Chief executive
27 Title to property	60 Functions, duties, and powers
28 Transitional committee	61 Administration headquarters
29 Membership of transitional committee	62 Service delivery centres
30 No casting vote	63 Communities
31 Exclusion of non-voting members	64 Rating