Nelson-Marlborough Region Repealed 1992/42 4 150(1)

## 4 CONSTITUTION OF NELSON-MARLBOROUGH REGION

There is hereby constituted a region, to be known as "The Nelson-Marlborough Region", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O Plan No. 14476 deposited with the Chief Surveyor for the Nelson Land District and the Chief Surveyor for the Marlborough Land District.

#### **5 CONSTITUENT AUTHORITIES**

The constituent authorities of the Nelson-Marlborough Region shall comprise-

- (a) The territorial authorities constituted by Parts III to VI of this order; and
- (b) In relation to any part of the Hurunui District constituted by the Local Government (Canterbury Region) Reorganisation Order 1989 that is within the Nelson-Marlborough Region, the Hurunui District Council.

# 6 DISSOLUTION OF EXISTING LOCAL **AUTHORITIES AND ABOLITION OF EXISTING** DISTRICTS

- (1) Every local authority named in Part I or Part II of the First Schedule to this order is hereby dissolved.
- (2) Every district named in Part I of the First Schedule to this order is hereby abolished.

#### 7 REFERENCES TO FORMER AUTHORITY

- (1) Every reference in this order to a former authority shall, where part only of the district of a former authority has been included within the district of a local authority, or any function of a former authority has been allocated to a local authority, be read as a reference to the former authority only in relation to that part or, as the case may be, that function.
- (2) Any reference in Part IX of this order to "the former authorities" or "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities defined in Parts II to VI of this order.

## 8 DISSOLUTION OF EXISTING COMMUNITY **COUNCILS AND ABOLITION OF EXISTING COMMUNITIES**

- (1) Every community council named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby dissolved.
- (2) Every community named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby abolished.

PART II

# Nelson-Marlborough Regional Council

#### 9 NELSON-MARLBOROUGH REGIONAL COUNCIL

A regional council, to be known as "The Nelson-Marlborough Regional Council", is hereby constituted for the Nelson-Marlborough Region.

### 10 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Nelson Bays United Council; and
- (b) The Marlborough United Council; and
- (c) The Nelson Catchment Board and Regional Water Board: and
- (d) The Marlborough Catchment Board and Regional Water Board: and
- (e) Subject to Part VIII of this order, the Nelson Harbour Board; and
  - (f) The Golden Bay District Noxious Plants Authority; and
  - (g) The Waimea District Noxious Plants Authority; and

- (h) The Marlborough District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (i) The Kaikoura District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (j) The Golden Bay County Pest Destruction Board; and
- (k) The Waimea County Pest Destruction Board; and
- (I) The Marlborough Pest Destruction Board; and
- (m) The Marlborough Nassella Tussock Board; and
- (n) The Marlborough Sounds Maritime Planning Authority;
  - (o) The Canterbury United Council; and
  - (p) The North Canterbury Pest Destruction Board; and
  - (q) The North Canterbury Nassella Tussock Board; and
  - (r) The Canterbury United Council; and
- (s) The Amuri District Noxious Plants Authority, and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

#### 11 CONSTITUENCIES

- (1) The Nelson-Marlborough Region is hereby divided into 4 constituencies.
- (2) Those 4 constituencies are:
- (a) The Nelson Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14478 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Nelson Land District:
- (b) The Tasman Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14477 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Nelson Land District:
- (c) The Marlborough Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14479 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Marlborough Land District:
- (d) The Kaikoura Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14497 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Marlborough Land District.

#### 12 MEMBERSHIP

The Nelson-Marlborough Regional Council shall comprise 13 members, of whom:

- (a) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Nelson Constituency; and
- (b) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Tasman Constituency; and
- (c) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Marlborough Constituency; and
- (d) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Repealed 1992/42 //50(1) Kaikoura Constituency.

# (b) 13 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Nelson-Marlborough Regional Council:
- (a) The Returning Officer for the Nelson Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Nelson City; and
- (b) The Returning Officer for the Tasman Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Tasman District; and
- (c) The Returning Officer for the Marlborough Constituency shall be the Returning officer for the Marlborough County; and
- (d) The Returning Officer for the Kaikoura Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Kaikoura County.
- (2) The first election of the Nelson-Marlborough Regional Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

# 14 FIRST MEETING

- (1) The principal administrative officer of the Nelson-Marlborough Regional Council:
  - (a) Shall convene the first meeting of that Council; and
- (b) Shall preside at the first meeting of that Council until the election of the Chairperson of that Council.