clause who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and

- (j) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 32 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (k) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 28(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

30 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Nelson-Marlborough Region or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

31 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Nelson-Marlborough Region may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

32 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Nelson-Marlborough Region shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Nelson-Marlborough Regional Council.

33 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Nelson-Marlborough Region shall be the Nelson Catchment Board and Regional Water Board.

34 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The costs of the transitional committee for the Nelson—Marlborough Region (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 28(2) of this order either:
- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the gross revenue of the local authority, for the year ended on the 31st day of March 1988 bears to the gross revenue of all the local authorities to which this clause applies for that year.

(2) For the purposes of this clause the gross revenue of a local authority shall be the gross revenue reasonably related to the area of a local authority which is to be included in the Nelson-Marlborough Region or any function of a local authority which is to be transferred to the Nelson-Marlborough Regional Council, whichever is applicable.

35 DELEGATION OF SERVICE DELIVERY

The transitional committee for the Nelson-Marlborough Region shall meet with:

- (a) Each of the other transitional committees specified in this order; and
- (b) The Nelson City Council and the Kaikoura District Council,

for the purpose of considering the most appropriate arrangements for the physical delivery of services relating to the functions allocated to the Nelson-Marlborough Regional Council by this order.

PART III

Nelson City

36 CONSTITUTION OF NELSON CITY

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Nelson City", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14457 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Nelson Land District.

37 NELSON CITY COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Nelson City Council", is hereby constituted for the Nelson City.

38 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

"The former authorities" means-

- (a) The former Nelson City Council; and
- (b) The Wakapuaka Drainage Board; and
- (c) The Marlborough County Council; and
- (d) Subject to Part VIII of this order, the Nelson Harbour Board.

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:

"Former Nelson City" means the Nelson City in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:

"Former Nelson City Council" means the Nelson City Council in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:

"Nelson City" means the Nelson City constituted by this order:

"Nelson City Council" means the Nelson City Council constituted by this order.

39 WARDS

- (1) The Nelson City is hereby divided into 4 wards.
- (2) Those 4 wards are:
- (a) The Whangamoa Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14458 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Nelson Land District:
- (b) The Maitai Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14459 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Nelson Land District:
- (c) The Fifeshire Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14460 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Nelson Land District:
- (d) The Stoke Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14461 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Nelson Land District.

40 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Nelson City Council shall consist of a Mayor and 14 members.
- (2) The members of the Nelson City Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Whangamoa Ward; and
- (b) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Maitai Ward; and
- (c) Five members shall be elected by the electors of the Fifeshire Ward; and
- (d) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Stoke Ward.

41 FIRST ELECTION

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Nelson City Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative