- (c) The Mapua Reserve Board; and
- (d) The Tasman Memorial Reserve Board; and
- (e) The Tapawera Reserve Board; and
- (f) Subject to Part VIII of this order, the Nelson Harbour Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:

"Former Tasman District" means the Tasman District in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:

"Former Tasman District Council" means the Tasman District Council in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:

"Tasman District" means the Tasman District constituted by this order:

"Tasman District Council" means the Tasman District Council constituted by this order.

55 WARDS

- (1) The Tasman District is hereby divided into 6 wards.
- (2) Those 6 wards are:
- (a) The Lakes Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14468 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Nelson Land District:
- (b) The Richmond Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14466 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Nelson Land District:
- (c) The Waimea Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14467 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Nelson Land District:
- (d) The Moutere Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14465 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Nelson Land District:
- (e) The Motueka Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14464 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Nelson Land District:
- (f) The Golden Bay Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 14463 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Nelson Land District.

56 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Tasman District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 16 members
- (2) Subject to the provisions of the Local Elections and Polls Act 1976, and the Local Government Act 1974, the Mayor and those members of the former Tasman District Council who were first elected on the 29th day of March 1989 to represent:
 - (a) The Lakes Ward; and
 - (b) The Richmond Ward; and
 - (c) The Waimea Ward; and
 - (d) The Moutere Ward; and
 - (e) The Motueka Ward,

shall continue in office until the triennial general election of members of local authorities to be conducted in October 1992.

(3) Two members of the Tasman District Council shall be elected to represent the Golden Bay Ward at the elections held pursuant to clause 2 of this order on the 14th day of October 1989.

57 FIRST ELECTION

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the members to represent the Golden Bay Ward, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Tasman District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and principal administrative officer for the former Tasman District.

(2) The first election of members to represent the Golden Bay Ward of the Tasman District shall be conducted by postal vote.

58 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Tasman District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

59 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Tasman District Council shall be the person holding the position of the Chief Executive of the former Tasman District Council immediately before the coming into force of this clause.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Tasman District Council.

60 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Tasman District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
 - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
 - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Tasman District Council or any of the former authorities; and
 - (iii) Any local Act relating to the Tasman District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of a harbour board in respect of the provision and maintenance of those marinas, wharves, jetties, boatramps, and other harbour facilities, formerly the responsibility of the Nelson Harbour Board, and transferred to the Tasman District Council by Part VIII of this order; and
- (c) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

61 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the Tasman District Council shall be located in Richmond.

62 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

The Tasman District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery centre, in:

- (a) Takaka; and
- (b) Motueka,

in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

63 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
- (a) The area of the Golden Bay Ward, to be known as "The Golden Bay Community"; and
- (b) The area of the Motueka Ward, to be known as "The Motueka Community".
- (2) The community board for each community constituted by subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of:
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community;
 and
- (b) The persons elected from time to time as members of the Tasman District Council, representing the ward comprising the area of that community, and appointed by the Tasman District Council to the community board.
- (3) The Returning Officer for the first election of the