the existing administration headquarters of the Waitemata City Council

88 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

The Waitakere City Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery centre in locations determined by that Council, in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

89 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
- (a) The area of the Waitakere Ward, to be known as "The Waitakere Community"; and
- (b) The area of the Massey Ward, to be known as "The Massey Community"; and
- (c) The area of the Henderson Ward, to be known as "The Henderson Community"; and
- (d) The area of the New Lynn Ward, to be known as "The New Lynn Community".
- (2) The community board for each community constituted by subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of:
- (a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and $\ \ \,$
- (b) Not more than four persons elected from time to time as members of the Waitakere City Council, representing the ward comprising the area of the community, and appointed by the Waitakere City Council to the community board.
- (3) The Returning Officer for the first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be the Returning Officer for the Waitemata City.
- (4) The first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be conducted by postal vote.

90 RATING

- (1) The system of rating in the Waitakere City shall be the land value system.
- (2) Until the Valuer-General is able to produce a valuation roll for the Waitakere City, Part XIV of the Rating Powers Act 1988 shall apply as if the Waitakere City was the district of a special purpose authority and the areas from which it was formed were constituent districts.
- (3) For the purposes of subclause (4) of this clause, and for no other purposes, each of the districts of the former authorities and forming part of the Inner Area of the Auckland Metropolitan Drainage District as from time to time existing in accordance with the provisions of the Auckland Metropolitan Drainage Act 1960, shall be constituted as rating divisions.
- (4) In each of the rating divisions constituted by subclause (3) of this clause, rates to be levied on residental land and on commercial and industrial land,
- (a) In the case of residential land for the period commencing on the 1st day of July 1990 and ending on the 30th day of June 1993; and
- (b) In the case of commercial and industrial land for the period commencing on the 1st day of July 1990 and ending on the 30th day of June 1992,

shall be made and levied on the basis of an agreement signed by those former authorities named in paragraphs (a) to (d) of clause 80 of this order following negotiations conducted by a conciliator appointed by the Local Government Commission pursuant to section 27 of the Local Government Act 1974 (as in force at the date that agreement was made) in respect of a proposal for the union of their districts.

91 TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING

(1) The Waitakere City Council shall not be required to

- prepare a new district scheme, immediately, for the Waitakere City.
- (2) The operative district schemes and the proposed district schemes under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 of the former authorities shall be deemed to be the operative district scheme or, as the case may be, the proposed district scheme, of the Waitakere City.
- (3) Where any former authority had, prior to its dissolution, begun the preparation of any review of its district scheme or of any change or variation thereof, then, subject to any resolution of the Waitakere City Council to the contrary, all such preparation shall be deemed to have been done by, or on behalf of, the Waitakere City Council and may be adopted and acted upon by it.
- (4) Where before the coming into force of this clause any application had been made to any former authority by any person pursuant to any provision of the Town and Country Planning Act 1977, and:
- (a) No hearing by that former authority or any committee thereof had begun of such application or any objection thereto, the application shall be deemed to have been made to the Waitakere City Council and shall be dealt with by it accordingly; or
- (b) Such application had been heard or otherwise disposed of by that former authority and either the time for any appeal against such decision had not expired or notice of appeal had been given, any such appeal shall be deemed to be against the Waitakere City Council; or
- (c) Such application had been either partly or fully heard or considered by that former authority but no decision thereon had been given, the application shall be heard or considered again by the Waitakere City Council or, as the case may require, a committee or delegate thereof.

92 CIVIL DEFENCE

The operative local civil defence plans for the districts of the former authorities shall continue in force in the respective parts of the Waitakere City until a new plan is approved for the Waitakere City, in accordance with the Civil Defence Act 1983.

93 VESTING OF PROPERTY

- (1) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority and situated in the Waitakere City is hereby vested in the corporation of the Waitakere City Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.
- (2) All property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority and situated in a district in which that former authority is not also a former authority, is hereby vested in the corporation of the Waitakere City Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

94 TITLE TO PROPERTY

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Waitakere City Council by clause 93 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Waitakere City Council".

95 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Waitakere City.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
 - (a) The Waitemata City Council; and
 - (b) The Henderson Borough Council; and
 - (c) The Glen Eden Borough Council; and
 - (d) The New Lynn Borough Council.