6 DISSOLUTION OF EXISTING LOCAL AUTHORITIES AND ABOLITION OF EXISTING DISTRICTS

- (1) Every local authority named in Part I or Part II of the First Schedule to this order is hereby dissolved.
- (2) Every district named in Part I of the First Schedule to this order is hereby abolished.

7 REFERENCES TO FORMER AUTHORITY

- (1) Every reference in this order to a former authority shall, where part only of the district of a former authority has been included within the district of a local authority, or any function of a former authority has been allocated to a local authority, be read as a reference to the former authority only in relation to that part or, as the case may be, that function.
- (2) Any reference in Part VII of this order to "the former authorities" or "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities defined in Parts II to V of this order.

8 DISSOLUTION OF EXISTING COMMUNITY COUNCILS AND ABOLITION OF EXISTING COMMUNITIES

- (1) Every community council named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby dissolved.
- (2) Every community named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby abolished.

PART II

Northland Regional Council

9 NORTHLAND REGIONAL COUNCIL

A regional council, to be known as "The Northland Regional Council", is hereby constituted for the Northland Region.

10 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

- "The former authorities" means:
 - (a) The former Northland Regional Council; and
 - (b) The Mangonui District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (c) The Whangaroa District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (d) The Hokianga District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (e) The Bay of Islands District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (f) The Whangarei District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (g) The Hobson District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (h) The Otamatea District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (i) The Mangonui County Pest Destruction Board; and (j) The Hokianga County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (k) The Whangaroa County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (I) The Bay of Islands County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (1) The day of Islands County Fest Destruction Board, an
 - (m) The Whangarei County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (n) The Hobson County Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (o) The Otamatea County Pest Destruction Board; and
- (p) Subject to Part VI of this order, the Northland Harbour Board; and
 - (q) The Auckland Regional Authority; and
 - (r) The Rodney District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (s) The Rodney County Pest Destruction Board,
- and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:
 - "Former Northland Region" means the Northland Region in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
 - "Former Northland Regional Council" means the

- Northland Regional Council in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Northland Region" means the Northland Region constituted by this order:
- "Northland Regional Council" means the Northland Regional Council constituted by this order.

11 CONSTITUENCIES

- (1) The Northland Region is hereby divided into 5 constituencies.
- (2) Those 5 constituencies are:
- (a) The Maungataniwha Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63485 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (b) The Bay of Islands Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63559 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (c) The Whangarei Rural Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63486 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (d) The Whangarei Urban Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63487 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (e) The Kaipara Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63488 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District.

12 MEMBERSHIP

The Northland Regional Council shall consist of 12 members, of whom:

- (a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Maungataniwha Constituency; and
- (c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Whangarei Rural Constituency; and
- (d) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Whangarei Urban Constituency; and
- (e) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Kaipara Constituency.

13 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Northland Regional Council:
- (a) The Returning Officer for the Maungataniwha Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for Kaikohe Borough; and
- (b) The Returning Officer for the Bay of Islands Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for Kaikohe Borough; and
- (c) The Returning Officer for the Whangarei Rural Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for Whangarei County; and
- (d) The Returning Officer for the Whangarei Urban Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for Whangarei County; and
- (e) The Returning Officer for the Kaipara Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for Otamatea County.
- (2) The first election of the Northland Regional Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

14 FIRST MEETING

- (1) The principal administrative officer of the Northland Regional Council:
 - (a) Shall convene the first meeting of that Council; and
- (b) Shall preside at the first meeting of that Council until the election of the Chairperson of that Council.