96 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The transitional committee for the Waitakere City shall consist of:
- (a) Two members appointed by the Waitemata City Council; and
- (b) Two members appointed by the Henderson Borough Council; and
- (c) Two members appointed by the Glen Eden Borough Council; and
- (d) Two members appointed by the New Lynn Borough Council; and
- (e) One officer appointed by each local authority named in clause 95(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and
- (f) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 99 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (g) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 95(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.
- (2) Each member appointed by the Waitemata City Council shall have 3 votes.

97 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Waitakere City or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

98 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Waitakere City may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

99 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Waitakere City shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Waitakere City Council.

100 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Waitakere City shall be the Waitemata City Council.

101 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the Waitakere City (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 95(2) of this order either:

- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—
 - The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:
 - (i) The district of that local authority; or
 - (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Waitakere City,

as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities included in the Waitakere City by this Part of this order.

PART VI

Auckland City

102 CONSTITUTION OF AUCKLAND CITY

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Auckland City", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63496 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District.

103 AUCKLAND CITY COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Auckland City Council", is hereby constituted for the Auckland City.

104 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

"The former authorities" means—

- (a) The former Auckland City Council; and
- (b) The Newmarket Borough Council; and
- (c) The Mount Albert City Council; and
- (d) The Mount Roskill Borough Council; and
- (e) The Mount Eden Borough Council; and
- (f) The One Tree Hill Borough Council; and
- (g) The Onehunga Borough Council; and
- (h) The Ellerslie Borough Council; and
- (i) The Tamaki City Council; and
- (j) The Waiheke County Council; and
- (k) The Great Barrier Island County Council; and
- (1) The One Tree Hill Domain Board; and
- (m) Subject to Part X of this order, the Auckland Harbour Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:

- "Former Auckland City" means the Auckland City in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Former Auckland City Council" means the Auckland City Council in existence immediately before the coming of into force of this clause of this order:
- "Auckland City" means the Auckland City constituted by this order:
- "Auckland City Council" means the Auckland City Council constituted by this order.

105 WARDS

- (1) The Auckland City is hereby divided into 10 wards.
- (2) Those 10 wards are:
- (a) The Western Bays Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63512 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (b) The Hobson Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63510 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (c) The Eastern Bays Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63509 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (d) The Avondale Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63515 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (e) The Mount Albert Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63514 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (f) The Mount Roskill Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63513 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
 - (g) The Mount Eden Ward, comprising the area delineated