(g) One officer appointed by each local authority named in clause 51(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and

(h) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 55 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and

(i) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 51(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

53 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Far North District or other person presiding at any meeting of the committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

54 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Far North District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

55 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Far North District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Far North District Council.

56 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Far North District shall be the Bay of Islands County Council.

57 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the Far North District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 51(2) of this order either:

(a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or

(b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Far North District,
- as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Far North District.

58 CONSULTATION WITH KAWAKAWA RESERVE BOARD

(1) The transitional committee for the Far North District shall consult with the Kawakawa Reserve Board for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for the Kawakawa Reserve.

(2) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the Far North District considers it desirable that a committee of management be established the transitional committee shall recommend to the Far North District Council that it establish such a committee of management.

PART IV

Whangarei District

59 CONSTITUTION OF WHANGAREI DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district to be known as "The Whangarei District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63498 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District.

60 WHANGAREI DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Whangarei District Council", is hereby constituted for the Whangarei District.

61 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Whangarei County Council; and
- (b) The Whangarei City Council; and
- (c) The Hikurangi Town Council; and
- (d) The Otamatea County Council; and
- (e) The Hukerenui Reserve Board; and
- (f) The Maungakaramea Reserve Board; and
- (g) The Ngunguru Reserve Board; and
- (h) The Parakao Reserve Board; and
- (i) The Ruakaka Central Reserve Board; and
- (j) The Mangapai Reserve Board; and
- (k) The Springfield Reserve Board; and
- (1) The Waikiekie Reserve Board; and
- (m) The Waipu Centennial Reserve Board; and
- (n) The Waiotira Reserve Board; and

(o) in respect of the Hikurangi Drainage District and the Hikurangi Swamp Major Scheme, the former Northland Regional Council,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

62 WARDS

(1) The Whangarei District is hereby divided into 6 wards.

(2) Those 6 wards are:

(a) The Coastal Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63541 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:

(b) The Hikurangi Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63543 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:

(c) The Maungatapere Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63544 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:

(d) The Bream Bay Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63545 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:

(e) The Denby Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63543 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:

(f) The Okara Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63540 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District.

63 MEMBERSHIP

(1) The Whangarei District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 13 members.

(2) The members of the Whangarei District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:

(a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Coastal Ward; and