76 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

(1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Whangarei District.

- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
 - (a) The Whangarei County Council; and
 - (b) The Whangarei City Council; and
 - (c) The Hikurangi Town Council.

77 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee for the Whangarei District shall consist of:

(a) Two members appointed by the Whangarei County Council; and

(b) Three members appointed by the Whangarei City Council; and

(c) One member appointed by the Hikurangi Town Council; and

(d) One officer appointed by each local authority named in clause 76(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and

(e) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 80 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and

(f) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 76(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

78 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Whangarei District or other person presiding at any meeting of the committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

79 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Whangarei District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

80 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Whangarei District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Whangarei District Council.

81 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Whangarei District shall be the Whangarei City Council.

82 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The costs of the transitional committee for the Whangarei District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 76(2) of this order either:

(a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or

(b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Whangarei District,

as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Whangarei District.

83 CONSULTATION WITH ADMINISTERING AUTHORITIES OF RESERVES

(1) The transitional committee for the Whangarei District shall consult with each administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 for each reserve whose functions, duties, and powers are, by this order, allocated to the Whangarei District Council.

(2) The consultation shall be for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for each reserve being administered by those administering authorities.

(3) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the Whangarei District considers it desirable that any committee or committees of management be established the transitional committee shall recommend to the Whangarei District Council that it establish such a committee or committees of management.

PART V

Kaipara District

84 CONSTITUTION OF KAIPARA DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district to be known as "The Kaipara District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63499 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District.

85 KAIPARA DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Kaipara District Council", is hereby constituted for the Kaipara District.

86 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means-

- (a) The Hobson County Council; and
- (b) The Dargaville Borough Council; and
- (c) The Otamatea County Council; and
- (d) The Raupo Drainage Board; and
- (e) The Kaiwaka Reserve Board; and
- (f) The Pahi Reserve Board; and
- (g) The Rodney County Council,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

87 WARDS

(1) The Kaipara District is hereby divided into 4 wards.

(2) Those 4 wards are:

(a) The Dargaville Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63555 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:

(b) The Pouto Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63552 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:

(c) The Ruawai Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63553 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:

(d) The Otamatea Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63554 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District.

88 MEMBERSHIP

(1) The Kaipara District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 10 members.

(2) The members of the Kaipara District Council to be elected at the first election of that district council shall be elected as follows: