- on S.O. Plan No. 63516 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (h) The Maungakiekie Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63517 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (i) The Tamaki Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63511 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District:
- (j) The Hauraki Gulf Islands Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 63500 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the North Auckland Land District.

#### 106 MEMBERSHIP

- (1) The Auckland City Council shall consist of a Mayor and 24 members.
- (2) The members of the Auckland City Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Western Bays Ward; and
- (b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Hobson Ward; and
- (c) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Eastern Bays Ward; and
- (d) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Avondale Ward: and
- (e) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Mount Albert Ward; and
- (f) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Mount Roskill Ward; and
- (g) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Mount Eden Ward; and
- (h) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Maungakiekie Ward; and
- (i) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Tamaki Ward; and
- (j) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Hauraki Gulf Islands Ward.

### 107 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Auckland City Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Auckland City shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the former Auckland City.
- (2) The first election of the Auckland City Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

## **108 FIRST MEETING**

The first meeting of the Auckland City Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

### **109 CHIEF EXECUTIVE**

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Auckland City Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 125 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Auckland City Council.

## 110 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Auckland City Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
  - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and

- (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Auckland City Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (iii) Any local Act relating to the Auckland City Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of a harbour board in respect of the provision and maintenance of those marinas, wharves, jetties, boat ramps and other harbour facilities formerly the responsibility of the Auckland Harbour Board and transferred to it by Part X of this order; and
- (c) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

### 111 WATERCOURSES

- (1) The control and management of the following watercourses is hereby transferred from the Auckland Regional Authority to the Auckland City Council:
  - (a) Meola Creek; and
  - (b) Motions Creek; and
  - (c) Oakley Creek; and
  - (d) Newmarket Stream; and
  - (e) Remuera Gully.
- (2) All assets and liabilities related to the watercourses at the locations named in subclause (1) of this clause, are hereby vested in the Auckland City Council.

### 112 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

Until the Auckland City Council otherwise resolves, the administration headquarters of the Auckland City Council shall be located in the existing administration headquarters of the former Auckland City Council.

### 113 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

The Auckland City Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery control.

- (a) in Avondale; and
- (b) in St Lukes; and
- (c) in Surrey Crescent; and
- (d) in Three Kings; and
- (e) in Meadowbank; and
- (f) in Otahuhu; and
- (g) in Onehunga; and
- (h) on Waiheke Island; and
- (i) on Great Barrier Island,

in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

# 114 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
- (a) The area of the Western Bays Ward, to be known as "The Western Bays Community"; and
- (b) The area of the Hobson Ward, to be known as "The Hobson Community"; and
- (c) The area of the Eastern Bays Ward, to be known as "The Eastern Bays Community"; and
- (d) The area of the Avondale Ward, to be known as "The Avondale Community"; and
- (e) The area of the Mount Albert Ward, to be known as "The Mount Albert Community"; and
- (f) The area of the Mount Roskill Ward, to be known as "The Mount Roskill Community"; and
- (g) The area of the Mount Eden Ward, to be known as "The Mount Eden Community"; and