31 Exclusion of non-voting members

32 Obligation of transitional committee to appoint chief

The Local Government (Otago Region) Reorganisation Order 1989

PAUL REEVES, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL

At Wellington this 9th day of June 1989

Present:

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL

Pursuant to section 36 of the Local Government 1974, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, hereby makes the following order.

Analysis

1 Title and commencement	executive
2 Elections	33 Principal local authority
3 Communities	34 Costs of transitional committee
PART I	35 Delegation of service delivery
Otago Region	PART III
4 Constitution of Otago Region	Waitaki District
5 Constituent authorities	36 Constitution of Waitaki District
6 Dissolution of existing local authorities and abolition of	37 Waitaki District Council
existing districts	38 Interpretation
7 References to former authority	39 Wards
8 Dissolution of existing community councils and abolition of existing communities	40 Membership
PART II	41 First election
	42 First meeting
Otago Regional Council	43 Chief executive
9 Otago Regional Council	44 Functions, duties, and powers
10 Interpretation	45 Administration headquarters
11 Constituencies	46 Service delivery centre
12 Membership	47 Communities
13 First election	48 Rating
14 First meeting	49 Town and country planning
15 Chief executive	50 Civil defence
16 Functions, duties, and powers	51 Vesting of property
17 Drainage area	52 Title to property
18 Rural services committee	53 Transitional committee
19 Joint committee	54 Membership of transitional committee
20 Regional land transport committee	55 No casting vote
21 Harbour committee	56 Exclusion of non-voting members
22 Administration headquarters	57 Obligation of transitional committee to appoint chief
23 Rating	executive
24 Regional planning	58 Principal local authority
25 Civil defence	59 Costs of transitional committee
26 Vesting of property	PART IV
27 Title to property	Central Otago District
28 Transitional committee	60 Constitution of Central Otago District
29 Membership of transitional committee	61 Central Otago District Council
30 No casting vote	62 Interpretation

63 Wards

64 Membership