165 Title to property

166 Port Otago Limited

167 Liabilities in respect of port related commercial undertakings

168 Residual assets and liabilities

PART IX

General

169 Transfer of responsibilities

170 Creditors

171 Local authorities petroleum tax

172 Special funds

173 Loans

174 Assets and liabilities

175 Loan liabilities

176 Residual authorities

177 Conduct of affairs

Schedules

Order

1 TITLE AND COMMENCEMENT

- (1) This order may be cited as the Local Government (Otago Region) Reorganisation Order 1989.
- (2) Subject to subclause (3) of this clause, this order shall come into force on the 1st day of November 1989.
- (3) Those provisions of this order necessary:
- (a) To provide for the first election of the members of the local authorities, and the members of the community boards for the communities, constituted by this order; and
- (b) For the purposes of clauses 28 to 35, 53 to 59, 79 to 86, 105 to 112, 131 to 138, 156 to 163 and 174 of this order; and
- (c) For the appointment of the principal administrative officers of those local authorities constituted by this order,

shall come into force on the making of this order.

2 ELECTIONS

The first elections of the local authorities, and the community boards for the communities, constituted by this order shall be held on the 14th day of October 1989.

3 COMMUNITIES

Each community constituted by this order shall come into existence on the day after the date on which the Returning Officer declares the result of the first election of members of the community board for that community, provided that no such community shall come into existence prior to the 1st day of November 1989.

PART I

Otago Region

4 CONSTITUTION OF OTAGO REGION

There is hereby constituted a region, to be known as "The Otago Region", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23100 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District.

5 CONSTITUENT AUTHORITIES

The constituent authorities of the Otago Region shall comprise the territorial authorities constituted by Parts III to VII of this order

6 DISSOLUTION OF EXISTING LOCAL AUTHORITIES AND ABOLITION OF EXISTING DISTRICTS

- (1) Every local authority named in Part I or Part II of the First Schedule to this order is hereby dissolved.
- (2) Every district named in Part I of the First Schedule to this order is hereby abolished.

7 REFERENCES TO FORMER AUTHORITY

(1) Every reference in this order to a former authority shall, where part only of the district of a former authority has been included within the district of a local authority, or any function of a former authority has been allocated to a local authority, be

read as a reference to the former authority only in relation to that part or, as the case may be, that function.

(2) Any reference in Part IX of this order to "the former authorities" or "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities defined in Parts II to VII of this order.

8 DISSOLUTION OF EXISTING COMMUNITY COUNCILS AND ABOLITION OF EXISTING COMMUNITIES

- (1) Every community council named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby dissolved.
- (2) Every community named in the Second Schedule to this order is hereby abolished.

PART II

Otago Regional Council

9 OTAGO REGIONAL COUNCIL

A regional council, to be known as "The Otago Regional Council" is hereby constituted for the Otago Region.

10 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Clutha-Central Otago United Council; and
- (b) The Coastal-North Otago United Council; and
- (c) The Otago Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
 - (d) The Taieri River Trust; and
 - (e) The Silverpeaks District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (f) The Waihemo District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (g) The Waitaki District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (h) The Bruce District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (i) The Clutha District Noxious Plants Authority; and (j) The Lake District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (k) The Maniototo District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (I) The Tuapeka District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (m) The Vincent District Noxious Plants Authority; and
 - (n) The Central Otago Pest Destruction Board; and (o) The South Otago Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (p) The East Otago Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (q) The Waitaki Valley Pest Destruction Board; and
- (r) Subject to Part VIII of this order, the Otago Harbour Board; and
 - (s) The Southland Pest Destruction Board; and
 - (t) The Southland United Council; and
- (u) The Southland Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and
 - (v) The Southland District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (w) The Waitaki Catchment Board and Regional Water Board,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.