11 CONSTITUENCIES

- (1) The Otago Region is hereby divided into 5 constituencies.
- (2) Those 5 constituencies are:
- (a) The Moeraki Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23101 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:
- (b) The Dunstan Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23102 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:
- (c) The Cargill Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23104 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:
- (d) The Wickliffe Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23105 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:
- (e) The Molyneux Constituency, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23103 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District.

12 MEMBERSHIP

The Otago Regional Council shall consist of 15 members, of whom:

- (a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Moeraki Constituency; and
- (b) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Dunstan Constituency; and
- (c) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Cargill Constituency; and
- (d) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Wickliffe Constituency; and
- (e) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Molyneux Constituency.

13 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Otago Regional Council:
- (a) The Returning Officer for the Moeraki Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Oamaru Borough; and
- (b) The Returning Officer for the Dunstan Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Alexandra Borough; and
- (c) The Returning Officer for the Cargill and Wickliffe Constituencies shall be the Returning Officer for the Dunedin City; and
- (d) The Returning Officer for the Molyneux Constituency shall be the Returning Officer for the Bruce District.
- (2) The first election of the Otago Regional Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

14 FIRST MEETING

- (1) The principal administrative officer of the Otago Regional Council:
 - (a) Shall convene the first meeting of that Council; and
- (b) Shall preside at the first meeting of that Council until the election of the Chairperson of that Council.
- (2) The first meeting of the Otago Regional Council shall be convened no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

15 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Otago Regional Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 32 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Otago Regional Council.

16 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

(1) The functions, duties, and powers of the Otago Regional Council shall be:

- (a) Except as otherwise provided in this order, the functions, duties, and powers of a regional council under—
 - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
 - (ii) The Urban Transport Act 1980; and
 - (iii) Any public Act relating to the Otago Regional Council or any of the former authorities and not expressly referred to in this clause; and
 - (iv) Any local Act relating to the Otago Regional Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers in relation to regional planning of a regional council under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 or any other Act; and
- (c) The functions, duties, and powers in relation to maritime planning of a maritime planning authority under the Town and Country Planning Act 1977 or any other Act; and
- (d) The functions, duties, and powers of a catchment board and a regional water board under the Soil Conservation and Rivers Control Act 1941 and the Water and Soil Conservation Act 1967 or any other Act; and
- (e) The functions, duties, and powers in relation to civil defence of a regional council under the Civil Defence Act 1983 or any other Act; and
- (f) Except as otherwise provided in this order, the functions, duties, and powers of a harbour board under the Harbours Act 1950 and the Marine Pollution Act 1974 or any other Act in respect of the Otago Harbour; and
- (g) The functions, duties, and powers of a pest destruction board under the Agricultural Pests Destruction Act 1967 or any other Act; and
- (h) The functions, duties, and powers of a district noxious plants authority under the Noxious Plants Act 1978 or any other Act; and
- (i) The functions, duties, and powers of a river board under the Taieri River Improvement Act 1920 and the River Boards Act 1908 and the Land Drainage Act 1908; and
- (j) In respect of the Taieri River Drainage area constituted by clause 17(1) of this order, the functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under Part XXIX of the Local Government Act 1974.
- (2) For the purposes of subclause (1)(j) of this clause, any reference in Part XXIX of the Local Government Act 1974 to a:
 - "Council" shall be deemed to include the Otago Regional Council:
 - "District" shall be deemed to include the Otago Region.

17 DRAINAGE AREA

- (1) The area of the former Taieri River Drainage and River District shall be deemed to be a drainage area constituted under section 504 of the Local Government Act 1974.
- (2) Notwithstanding anything else in this order, the provisions of the Taieri River Improvement Act 1920 shall, with the necessary modifications, continue to apply to the area of the former Taieri River Drainage and River District.

18 RURAL SERVICES COMMITTEE

- (1) The Otago Regional Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a Rural Services Committee.
- (2) The Rural Services Committee shall be responsible for:
 - (a) Agricultural pests destruction; and
 - (b) Noxious plants control; and
- (c) Any other functions considered by the Otago Regional Council to be of particular concern to the rural community.
- (3) The persons appointed by the Otago Regional Council to