the corporation of the Otago Regional Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

(2) Except as otherwise provided in this order, all property, real and personal, vested in the corporation of any former authority, other than those former authorities named in paragraphs (s) to (w) of clause 10 of this order, and situated in a region in which that former authority is not also a former authority is hereby vested in the corporation of the Otago Regional Council, subject to all existing encumbrances.

27 TITLE TO PROPERTY

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Otago Regional Council by clause 26 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Otago Regional Council".

28 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

(1) The local authorities named in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Otago Region.

(2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:

(a) The Clutha-Central Otago United Council; and

(b) The Coastal-North Otago United Council; and

(c) The Otago Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and

(d) The Otago Harbour Board; and

- (e) The Taieri River Trust; and
- (f) The Silverpeaks District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (g) The Waihemo District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (h) The Waitaki District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (i) The Bruce District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (j) The Clutha District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (k) The Lake District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (I) The Maniototo District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (m) The Tuapeka District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (n) The Vincent District Noxious Plants Authority; and
- (o) The Central Otago Pest Destruction Board; and
- (p) The South Otago Pest Destruction Board; and
- (q) The East Otago Pest Destruction Board; and
- (r) The Waitaki Valley Pest Destruction Board.

29 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee for the Otago Region shall consist of:

(a) Two members appointed by the Clutha-Central Otago United Council; and

(b) Two members appointed by the Coastal-North Otago United Council; and

(c) Three members appointed by the Otago Catchment Board and Regional Water Board; and

(d) One member appointed by the Otago Harbour Board; and

(e) One member appointed jointly by the district noxious plants authorities and pest destruction boards named in paragraphs (f) to (r) of clause 28(2) of this order; and

(f) One officer appointed by each local authority named in paragraphs (a) to (d) of clause 28(2) of this order who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and

(g) One officer appointed jointly by the district noxious plants authorities and pest destruction boards named in

paragraphs (f) to (r) of clause 28(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and

(h) One member appointed by the Taieri River Trust who

shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and

(i) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 32 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and

(j) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 28(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

30 NO CASTING VOTE

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Otago Region or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes.

31 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Otago Region may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

32 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Otago Region shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Otago Regional Council.

33 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Otago Region shall be the Otago Catchment Board and Regional Water Board.

34 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

(1) The costs of the transitional committee for the Otago Region (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 28(2) of this order either:

(a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or

(b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the gross revenue of the local authority, for the year ended on the 31st day of March 1988 bears to the gross revenue of all the local authorities to which this clause applies for that year.

(2) For the purpose of this clause the gross revenue of a local authority shall be the gross revenue reasonably related to the area of a local authority which is to be included in the Otago Region or any function of a local authority which is to be transferred to the Otago Regional Council, whichever is applicable.

35 DELEGATION OF SERVICE DELIVERY

The transitional committee for the Otago Region shall meet with:

(a) Each of the other transitional committees specified in this order; and

(b) The Taieri River Trust; and

(c) Those pest destruction boards named in paragraphs (o) to (q) of clause 10 of this order,

for the purpose of considering the most appropriate arrangements for the physical delivery of services relating to the functions allocated to the Otago Regional Council by this order.