PART III

Waitaki District

36 CONSTITUTION OF WAITAKI DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Waitaki District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23106 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District.

37 WAITAKI DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Waitaki District Council", is hereby constituted for the Waitaki District.

38 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

(a) The Waitaki County Council; and

(b) The Oamaru Borough Council; and

(c) The Waihemo County Council,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

39 WARDS

(1) The Waitaki District is hereby divided into 5 wards.

(2) Those 5 wards are:

(a) The Redcastle Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23111, deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District; and

(b) The Wanbrow Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23110, deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District; and

(c) The Waihemo Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23109, deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District; and

(d) The Corriedale Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23108, deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District; and

(e) The Ahuriri Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23107, deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District.

40 MEMBERSHIP

(1) The Waitaki District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 15 members.

(2) The members of the Waitaki District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:

(a) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Redcastle Ward; and

(b) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Wanbrow Ward; and

(c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Waihemo Ward; and

(d) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Corriedale Ward; and

(e) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Ahuriri Ward.

41 FIRST ELECTION

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Waitaki District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Waitaki District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Oamaru Borough.

(2) The first election of the Waitaki District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

42 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Waitaki District Council:

(a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and

(b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

43 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

(1) The Chief Executive for the Waitaki District Council

shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 57 of this order.

(2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer for the Waitaki District Council.

44 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Waitaki District Council shall be:

(a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—

- (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
- (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Waitaki District Council or any of the former authorities; and

(iii) Any local Act relating to the Waitaki District Council or any of the former authorities; and

(b) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

45 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the Waitaki District Council shall be located in Oamaru.

46 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRE

The Waitaki District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery centre in Palmerston in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

47 COMMUNITIES

(1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following areas:

(a) The area of the Ahuriri Ward, to be known as "The Ahuriri Community"; and

(b) The area of the Waihemo Ward, to be known as "The Waihemo Community".

(2) The community board for each community constituted by subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of:

(a) Six members to be elected by the electors of the community; and

(b) The persons elected from time to time as members of the Waitaki District Council, representing the ward comprising the area of that community, and appointed by the Waitaki District Council to the community board.

(3) The Returning Officer for the first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be the Returning Officer for the Oamaru Borough.

(4) The first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be conducted by postal vote.

48 RATING

(1) The system of rating in the Waitaki District shall be the land value system.

(2) Until the Valuer-General is able to produce a valuation roll for the Waitaki District, Part XIV of the Rating Powers Act 1988 shall apply as if the Waitaki District was the district of a special purpose authority and the areas from which it was formed were constituent districts.