## **PART IV**

# Central Otago District

# 60 CONSTITUTION OF CENTRAL OTAGO DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Central Otago District", which shall comprise the area delineated on the S.O. Plan No. 23130 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District.

## 61 CENTRAL OTAGO DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Central Otago District Council", is hereby constituted for the Central Otago District.

## **62 INTERPRETATION**

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Vincent County Council; and
- (b) The Maniototo County Council; and
- (c) The Cromwell Borough Council; and
- (d) The Alexandra Borough Council; and
- (e) The Roxburgh Borough Council; and
- (f) The Naseby Borough Council; and
- (g) The Tuapeka County Council; and
- (h) The Gimmerburn Recreation Reserve Board: and
- (i) The Hills Creek Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (i) The time elect necreation neserve board, at
- (j) The Paerau Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (k) The Patearoa Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (1) The Taieri Lake Domain Board; and
- (m) The Bannockburn Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (n) The Chatto Creek Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (o) The Clyde Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (p) The Dunstan Domain Board; and
- (q) The Omakau Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (r) The Millers Flat Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (s) The Southland County Council; and
- (t) The Waitaki County Council,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

## 63 WARDS

- (1) The Central Otago District is hereby divided into 6 wards.
- (2) Those 6 wards are:
- (a) The Cromwell Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23134 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:
- (b) The Alexandra Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23131 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:
- (c) The Roxburgh Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23133 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:
- (d) The Earnscleugh Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23135 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:
- (e) The Manuherikia Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23136 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:
- (f) The Maniototo Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23132 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District.

# **64 MEMBERSHIP**

- (1) The Central Otago District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 15 members.
- (2) The members of the Central Otago District Council to be elected at the first election of the Central Otago District Council shall be elected as follows:
- (a) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Cromwell Ward; and
- (b) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Alexandra Ward; and
- (c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Roxburgh Ward; and
- (d) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Earnscleugh Ward; and  $\ensuremath{\mathsf{E}}$
- (e) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Manuherikia Ward; and
- (f) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Maniototo Ward.

## **65 FIRST ELECTION**

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Central Otago District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Central Otago District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Alexandra Borough.
- (2) The first election of the Central Otago District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

## **66 FIRST MEETING**

The first meeting of the Central Otago District Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

## **67 CHIEF EXECUTIVE**

- (1) The Chief Executive for the Central Otago District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 83 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Central Otago District Council.

## 68 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Central Otago District Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—
  - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
  - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Central Otago District Council or any of the former authorities; and
  - (iii) Any local Act relating to the Central Otago District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

## 69 CROWN PROPERTY IN CROMWELL

- (1) In the event that the Central Otago District Council should resolve to establish a committee to negotiate with the Crown on the management and disposal of Crown property in the Cromwell Ward, then at least half the members of that committee shall be appointed by that Council from among the members of the Cromwell Community Board, constituted by clause 72 of this order.
- (2) The Central Otago District Council shall consult with the Cromwell Community Board when considering any action in respect of any matter referred to in the Memorandum of