## **78 TITLE TO PROPERTY**

Any reference, express or implied, to any former authority in any instrument or other document, or in any entry or record made in any register in relation to any property vested in the Central Otago District Council by clause 77 of this order shall, unless the context otherwise requires, be read as a reference to "The Central Otago District Council".

#### 79 TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

- (1) The local authorities listed in subclause (2) of this clause shall unite in appointing a transitional committee for the Central Otago District.
- (2) The local authorities to which this clause applies shall be:
  - (a) The Vincent County Council; and
  - (b) The Maniototo County Council; and
  - (c) The Cromwell Borough Council; and
  - (d) The Alexandra Borough Council; and
  - (e) The Roxburgh Borough Council; and
  - (f) The Naseby Borough Council; and
  - (g) The Tuapeka County Council.

# 80 MEMBERSHIP OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE

The transitional committee for the Central Otago District shall consist of:

- (a) Two members appointed by the Vincent County Council; and
- (b) Two members appointed by the Maniototo County
- (c) Two members appointed by the Cromwell Borough Council; and  $% \left( 1\right) =\left( 1\right) \left( 1\right)$
- (d) Two members appointed by the Alexandra Borough Council; and
- (e) Two members appointed by the Roxburgh Borough Council; and
- (f) Two members appointed by the Tuapeka County Council; and
- (g) One member appointed by the Naseby Borough Council; and
- (h) One officer appointed by each local authority named in clause 79(2) of this order, who shall be non-voting members of the transitional committee; and
- (i) The Chief Executive designate, when appointed in accordance with clause 83 of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee; and
- (j) One member appointed by the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions, being an employee of a local authority named in clause 79(2) of this order, who shall be a non-voting member of the transitional committee.

### **81 NO CASTING VOTE**

The Chairperson of the transitional committee for the Central Otago District or other person presiding at any meeting of that committee shall not have a casting vote in the case of equality of votes

## 82 EXCLUSION OF NON-VOTING MEMBERS

The transitional committee for the Central Otago District may resolve to exclude any non-voting member of that committee from any meeting or part of a meeting where it proposes to consider any matter that affects that member personally.

# 83 OBLIGATION OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE TO APPOINT CHIEF EXECUTIVE

The transitional committee for the Central Otago District shall appoint a person to be the Chief Executive of the Central Otago District Council.

#### 84 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Central Otago District shall be the Alexandra Borough Council.

#### **85 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE**

The costs of the transitional committee for the Central Otago District (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 79(2) of this order, either:

- (a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or
- (b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

- (i) The district of that local authority; or
- (ii) Those parts of the district of that local authority to be included in the Central Otago District,

as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that census) of all of the districts of the local authorities or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in the Central Otago District.

# 86 CONSULTATION WITH ADMINISTERING AUTHORITIES OF RESERVES

- (1) The transitional committee for the Central Otago District shall consult with each administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 for each reserve whose functions, duties, and powers are, by this order, allocated to the Central Otago District Council.
- (2) The consultation shall be for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for each reserve being administered by those administering authorities.
- (3) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the Central Otago District considers it desirable that any committee or committees of management be established, the transitional committee shall recommend to the Central Otago District Council that it establish such a committee or committees of management.

#### PART V

### Queenstown-Lakes District

# 87 CONSTITUTION OF QUEENSTOWN-LAKES DISTRICT

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Queenstown-Lakes District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23112 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District.

# 88 QUEENSTOWN-LAKES DISTRICT COUNCIL

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Queenstown-Lakes District Council", is hereby constituted for the Queenstown-Lakes District.

#### 89 INTERPRETATION

In this Part of this order:

"The former authorities" means:

- (a) The former Queenstown-Lakes District Council; and
- (b) The Arrowtown Borough Council; and
- (c) The Vincent County Council; and
- (d) The Southland County Council; and
- (e) The Hawea Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (f) The Luggate Recreation Reserve Board,