and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause:

- "Former Queenstown-Lakes District" means the Queenstown—Lakes District in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Former Queenstown-Lakes District Council" means the Queenstown-Lakes District Council in existence immediately before the coming into force of this clause of this order:
- "Queenstown-Lakes District" means the Queenstown-Lakes District constituted by this order:
- "Queenstown-Lakes District Council" means the Queenstown-Lakes District Council constituted by this order.

90 WARDS

(1) The Queenstown-Lakes District is hereby divided into 5 wards.

(2) Those 5 wards are:

(a) The Wanaka Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23114 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:

(b) The Arrowtown Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23117 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:

(c) The Wakatipu Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23115 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:

(d) The Queenstown East Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23113 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:

(e) The Queenstown West Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23116 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District.

91 MEMBERSHIP

(1) The Queenstown-Lakes District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 15 members.

(2) The members of the Queenstown-Lakes District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:

(a) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Wanaka Ward; and

(b) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Arrowtown Ward; and

(c) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Wakatipu Ward; and

(d) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Queenstown East Ward; and

(e) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Queenstown West Ward.

92 FIRST ELECTION

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Queenstown-Lakes District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Queenstown-Lakes District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the former Queenstown-Lakes District.

(2) The first election of the Queenstown-Lakes District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

93 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Queenstown-Lakes District Council:

(a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and

(b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

94 CHIEF EXECUTIVE

(1) The Chief Executive of the Queenstown-Lakes District Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 109 of this order.

(2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Queenstown-Lakes District Council.

95 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Queenstown-Lakes District Council shall be:

(a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—

- (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
- (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Queenstown-Lakes District Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (iii) Any local Act relating to the Queenstown-Lakes District Council or any of the former authorities; and

(b) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

96 ARROWTOWN PLANNING COMMITTEE

(1) The Queenstown-Lakes District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain an Arrowtown Planning Committee.

(2) The functions of the Arrowtown Planning Committee shall include the hearing of town planning applications in respect of the Arrowtown section of the Queenstown-Lakes district scheme.

(3) The persons appointed by the Queenstown-Lakes District Council to the Arrowtown Planning Committee established under subclause (1) of this clause shall include three persons:

(a) Who are normally resident in the Arrowtown Ward constituted by clause 90 of this order; and

(b) Who, in the opinion of the Council, have knowledge that will assist the work of the committee.

97 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the Queenstown-Lakes District Council shall be located in Queenstown.

98 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

The Queenstown-Lakes District Council shall, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery centre in:

- (a) Wanaka; and
- (b) Arrowtown,

in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

99 WANAKA COMMUNITY

(1) There shall be constituted a community for the area of the Wanaka Ward to be known as "The Wanaka Community".

(2) The community board for the Wanaka Community constituted by subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of:

(a) Six members elected by the electors of the community; and

(b) The persons elected from time to time as members of the Queenstown-Lakes District Council representing the Wanaka Ward and appointed by the Queenstown-Lakes District Council to the community board.

(3) The Returning Officer for the first election of the community board for the community constituted by this clause shall be the Returning Officer for the former Queenstown-Lakes District Council.

(4) The first election of the community board for the