- (c) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Port Chalmers Ward; and
- (d) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Mosqiel Ward; and
- (e) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Taieri Ward; and  $\$
- (f) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Waikouaiti Coast Ward; and
- (g) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the North Ward; and
- (h) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Central Ward; and
- (i) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the East Ward: and
- (j) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the West Ward; and
- (k) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Green Island Ward; and
- (I) One member shall be elected by the electors of the  $\operatorname{St}$  Kilda Ward.

### 118 FIRST ELECTION

- (1) For the purposes of the first election of the Dunedin City Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Dunedin City shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and principal administrative officer for the former Dunedin City.
- (2) The first election of the Dunedin City Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

### 119 FIRST MEETING

The first meeting of the Dunedin City Council:

- (a) Shall be convened by the principal administrative officer of that Council; and
- (b) Shall be held no later than the 14th day of November 1989.

### **120 CHIEF EXECUTIVE**

- (1) The Chief Executive of the Dunedin City Council shall be the person appointed to that position in accordance with clause 135 of this order.
- (2) The Chief Executive shall be the principal administrative officer of the Dunedin City Council.

## 121 FUNCTIONS, DUTIES, AND POWERS

The functions, duties, and powers of the Dunedin City Council shall be:

- (a) The functions, duties, and powers of a territorial authority under—  $\,$ 
  - (i) The Local Government Act 1974; and
  - (ii) Any other public Act relating to the Dunedin City Council or any of the former authorities; and
  - (iii) Any local Act relating to the Dunedin City Council or any of the former authorities; and
- (b) The functions, duties, and powers of a harbour board in respect of the provision and maintenance of those marinas, wharves, jetties, boat ramps, and other harbour facilities formerly the responsibility of the Otago Harbour Board and transferred to the Dunedin City Council by Part VIII of this order; and
- (c) The functions, duties and powers of the Dunedin Drainage and Sewerage Board under the Dunedin District Drainage and Sewerage Act 1900; and
- (d) The functions, duties and powers of the Ocean Beach Domain Board under the Ocean Beach Public Domain Act 1892; and

(e) The functions, duties, and powers of an administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 in respect of the reserves being administered by the former authorities immediately before the coming into force of this clause.

# 122 DUNEDIN URBAN DRAINAGE AREA

The district of the former Dunedin Drainage and Sewerage Board is hereby deemed to be an urban drainage area constituted pursuant to section 443 of the Local Government Act 1974.

## 123 ADMINISTRATION HEADQUARTERS

The administration headquarters of the Dunedin City Council shall be located in Dunedin.

### 124 SERVICE DELIVERY CENTRES

The Dunedin City Council shali, at least until the 1st day of November 1995, establish and maintain a service delivery centre in:

- (a) Mosgiel; and
- (b) Waikouaiti; and
- (c) Port Chalmers; and
- (d) St Kilda; and
- (e) Green Island,

in accordance with the provisions of the Third Schedule to this order.

### 125 COMMUNITIES

- (1) There is hereby constituted a community for each of the following:
- (a) The area of the Strath Taieri Ward, to be known as "The Strath Taieri Community; and
- (b) The area of the Saddle Hill Ward, to be known as "The Saddle Hill Community"; and(c) The area of the Waikouaiti Coast Ward, to be known as
- "The Waikouaiti Coast Community"; and
  (d) The area of the Port Chalmers Ward, to be known as
- "The Port Chalmers Community".

  (2) The community board for each community constituted by
- subclause (1) of this clause shall consist of:

  (a) Six members to be elected by the electors of the community; and
- (b) The persons elected from time to time as members of the Dunedin City Council representing the ward comprising the area of the community, and appointed by the Dunedin City Council to the community board.
- (3) There is hereby constituted a community for the area of the Mosgiel Ward and the Taieri Ward, which shall be known as "The Mosgiel-Taieri Community".
- (4) The community board for the Mosgiel-Taieri Community shall consist of:
- (a) Four members elected by the electors of the Mosgiel Ward; and
- (b) Two members elected by the electors of the Taieri Ward; and
- (c) The persons elected from time to time as members of the Dunedin City Council representing the Mosgiel Ward and the Taieri Ward, and appointed by the Dunedin City Council to the community board.
- (5) The Returning Officer for the first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be the Returning Officer for the former Dunedin City.
- (6) The first election of the community boards for those communities constituted by this clause shall be conducted by postal vote.