a person to be the Chief Executive of the Dunedin City Council.

# **136 PRINCIPAL LOCAL AUTHORITY**

The principal local authority for the transitional committee for the Dunedin City shall be the former Dunedin City Council.

# **137 COSTS OF TRANSITIONAL COMMITTEE**

The costs of the transitional committee for the Dunedin City (including the costs of providing administrative services to it) shall be borne and paid by the local authorities named in clause 131(2) of this order either:

(a) In accordance with a formula agreed to by that committee; or

(b) If there is no such agreement, in accordance with the following formula—

The proportion of those costs to be borne and paid by each local authority shall equal the proportion that the population (as at the time of the Census of Population and Dwellings held on the 4th day of March 1986) of:

(i) The district of that local authority; or

(ii) Those parts of the districts of that local authority to be included in Dunedin City,

as the case may be, bears to the total of the populations (as at the time of that Census) of all of the districts of the local authorities, or parts of the districts of the local authorities to be included in Dunedin City.

# 138 CONSULTATION WITH ADMINISTERING AUTHORITIES OF RESERVES

(1) The transitional committee for the Dunedin City shall consult with each administering body under the Reserves Act 1977 for each reserve whose functions, duties, and powers are, by this order, allocated to the Dunedin City Council.

(2) The consultation shall be for the purpose of discussing the possible establishment of a committee of management for each reserve being administered by those administering authorities.

(3) Where, following that consultation, the transitional committee for the Dunedin City considers it desirable that any committee or committees of management be established, the transitional committee shall recommend to the Dunedin City Council that it establish such a committee or committees of management.

# PART VII

## **Clutha District**

## **139 CONSTITUTION OF CLUTHA DISTRICT**

There is hereby constituted a district, to be known as "The Clutha District", which shall comprise the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23137 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District.

## **140 CLUTHA DISTRICT COUNCIL**

A territorial authority, to be known as "The Clutha District Council", is hereby constituted for the Clutha District.

## **141 INTERPRETATION**

In this Part of this order, "the former authorities" means:

- (a) The Bruce District Council; and
- (b) The Clutha County Council; and
- (c) The Balclutha Borough Council; and
- (d) The Tapanui Borough Council; and
- (e) The Tuapeka County Council; and
- (f) The Lawrence Borough Council; and
- (g) The Dunrobin Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (h) The Heriot Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (i) The Kelso Recreation Reserve Board; and

(j) The Tuapeka Mouth Recreation Reserve Board; and

- (k) The Waitahuna Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (1) The Wangaloa Domain Board; and
- (m) The Pounawea Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (n) The Black Gully Recreation Reserve Board; and
- (o) The Southland County Council,

and any reference to "former authority" shall be a reference to any of the former authorities named in this clause.

## **142 WARDS**

(1) The Clutha District is hereby divided into 7 wards.

(2) Those 7 wards are:

(a) The West Otago Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23140 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:

(b) The Clinton Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23144 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:

(c) The Catlins Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23138 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:

(d) The Kaitangata-Matau Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23139 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:

(e) The Balclutha Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23143 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:

(f) The Bruce Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23142 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District:

(g) The Lawrence-Tuapeka Ward, comprising the area delineated on S.O. Plan No. 23141 deposited with the Chief Surveyor of the Otago Land District.

#### **143 MEMBERSHIP**

 $\left(1\right)$  The Clutha District Council shall consist of a Mayor and 15 members.

(2) The members of the Clutha District Council to be elected at the first election of that Council shall be elected as follows:

(a) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the West Otago Ward; and

(b) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Clinton Ward; and

(c) One member shall be elected by the electors of the Catlins Ward; and

(d) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Kaitangata-Matau Ward; and

(e) Four members shall be elected by the electors of the Balclutha Ward; and

(f) Three members shall be elected by the electors of the Bruce Ward; and

(g) Two members shall be elected by the electors of the Lawrence-Tuapeka Ward.

## **144 FIRST ELECTION**

(1) For the purposes of the first election of the Clutha District Council, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Clutha District shall be, respectively, the Returning Officer and the principal administrative officer for the Bruce District.

(2) The first election of the Clutha District Council shall be conducted by postal vote.

#### **145 FIRST MEETING**

The first meeting of the Clutha District Council: